NEW MUSIC FRIDAY: Releases For The Week of July 15, 2016

Who ya gonna buy?

Who ya gonna buy?

Our thoughts and prayers are with the people of Nice after this tragic evening. As you know, music can heal during these sad times, and I hope you’ll find something positive in the mix this week. Here are the new and notable albums and singles:

  • NEEDTOBREATHE — H A R D L O V E (iTunes)
    • Sometimes, our favorite acts forget to switch off the Caps Lock button when typing. In the case of this South Carolina band, they seem to be embracing it. THE LEAD– ahem, the lead single from their latest album, “HAPPINESS”, is top five at Christian CHR/Hot AC radio, and in the top 50 at regular Hot AC radio. Look for this to score a top ten debut.
  • VARIOUS ARTISTS — Ghostbusters (Soundtrack) (iTunes)
    • Featuring singles from 5 Seconds Of Summer, Elle King and G-Eazy, one of the summer’s hottest soundtracks is now in stores and scaring up a storm. (Proton packs sold separately.) Look for the set to score some heavy stream and track-equivalent units, with a final total depending on how large the opening weekend for the film is.
  • DAVID NAIL — Fighter (iTunes)
    • Nail’s “Night’s On Fire” has been in the top 50 on Country radio for 45 (!) weeks, and it still hasn’t made the top ten. A bit much, yes? You can find that, and collaborations with acts like the Brothers Osborne and Vince Gill, on here.
  • DIRTY HEADS — Dirty Heads (iTunes)
    • The California band is still climbing up the Alternative chart with their latest hit, “That’s All I Need”. Two years ago, it was Sound Of Change that gave them their first top ten album on the Billboard 200. Can they make it 2-for-2?
  • More albums out this week: Bright Light Bright Light‘s Choreography (iTunes), Clams Casino‘s 32 Levels (iTunes), Dreezy‘s No Hard Feelings (iTunes), Good Charlotte‘s Youth Authority (iTunes), Hillsong United‘s Of Dirt And Grace (Live From The Land (iTunes), Jeff Beck‘s Loud Hailer (iTunes), Steven Tyler‘s We’re All Somebody From Somewhere (iTunes), Kidz Bop 32 (iTunes)
  • More EPs out this week: Cardboard Kids‘s Mint (iTunes)

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:

  • “Cruel”, Snakehips featuring Zayn (iTunes)
  • “F**k With Myself”, BANKS (iTunes)
  • “If He Ain’t Gonna Love You”, Jake Owen (iTunes)
  • “In My Blood”, Leo Stannard (iTunes)
  • “Jungle Youth”, Young The Giant (iTunes)
  • “Make Me”, Britney Spears featuring G-Eazy (iTunes)
  • “Rise”, Katy Perry (iTunes)
  • “Romantic”, Stanaj (iTunes)
  • “She Sets The City On Fire”, Gavin DeGraw (iTunes)
  • “Solving Problems”, Brent Cobb (iTunes)
  • “Something Wild”, Lindsey Sterling featuring Andrew McMahon In The Wilderness (iTunes)
  • “Starving”, Hailee Steinfeld & Grey featuring Zedd (iTunes)
  • “Superlove”, Tinashe (iTunes)
  • “Unstoppable”, The Score (iTunes)
  • “Welcome To Your Life”, Grouplove (iTunes)

We’ll see you next week for new releases from HONNE, Keith SweatLil Durk and more.


Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s