Tag Archives: Tyler Farr

TURN IT UP TUESDAY: What’s New In Stores This Week (April 28)


Brown wants the crown.

The last release date in the month of April turns the twang up to a ten, but that’s not everything that the schedule is strumming up. Here are the albums and singles that are new in stores for the week of April 28:

  • You know them from Country smashes like “Chicken Fried”, “Toes” and “Goodbye In Her Eyes”, but the latest album in the Zac Brown Band catalog has the band going in a few different directions. Perhaps that’s why they called it Jekyll + Hyde. “Homegrown” recently hit #1 at the format, but they’re also on top of the Active Rock survey with “Heavy Is The Head”, featuring Chris Cornell. No matter what side you prefer, the set should be #1 in sales next week. (iTunes)
  • Close to landing his third #1 single at the Country format with “A Guy Walks Into A Bar”, 31-year-old Missouri musician Tyler Farr is out with Suffer In Peace, his first album in a year and a half. The song was recently certified Gold, and the top ten (or possibly top five) is looking good for the new full-length release. (iTunes)
  • Josh Groban‘s recent #1 album in the United Kingdom is now out here this week, Stages. The new set is a collection of songs from classic musicals and features a duet with original American Idol champ Kelly Clarkson. Look for the effort to crash the top ten next week. (iTunes)
  • Other releases out this week include: Blur‘s The Magic Whip (iTunes), Eric Clapton‘s Forever Man (iTunes), Everclear‘s Black Is The New Black (iTunes), George FitzGerald‘s Fading Love (iTunes), Insane Clown Posse‘s The Marvelous Missing Link (Lost) (iTunes), Matthew West‘s Live Forever (iTunes), Mew‘s +- (iTunes), Pat Benatar‘s 35th Anniversary Tour (Live) (iTunes), Raekwon‘s Fly International Luxurious Art (iTunes) and The Weepies‘s Sirens (iTunes).

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:

  • “Ah Ha”, new from Nate Ruess. (iTunes)
  • “Counting On Love”, a new single from Matt McAndrew. (iTunes)
  • “Infinity”, new from Mariah Carey. (iTunes)

It’s all about Mumford & Sons next week as Wilder Mind hits stores on Monday. A full preview of the week, including other new releases from Ciara and My Morning Jacket, comes on Sunday night.

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews

TURN IT UP MONDAY: What’s New In Stores This Week (September 30)

He's a Soul survivor.

20/20 on 9/30.

Turn it up… Monday? It’s true! Thanks to one superstar release this week, many albums and singles are out early. (NOTE: some releases may still not be out until Tuesday dependent on record label availability/iTunes response time.) Here’s what you need to know about musically for the week of September 30:

  • We’ve been waiting for this one for months now. It’s the second half of Justin Timberlake‘s soulful strut through the musical landscape, The 20/20 Experience, 2 of 2. The album will no doubt debut at #1 on next week’s album chart, albeit with a lesser total than the first part of the series. Still, it’s Justin Timberlake. You know it will smash and smash hard. (iTunes)
  • Newcomer Lorde is trading in her gold teeth and Grey Goose for some big potential album sales this week with Pure Heroine, her debut album. It features the international hit “Royals” as well as new single “Team”. Look for it to be a strong #2 next week. (iTunes)
  • Country singer Tyler Farr, who is driving radio “Redneck Crazy” with his current top 3 single, is out with his Redneck Crazy album. It will likely pull in some decent numbers, perhaps enough to go top ten. (iTunes)
  • He cruised up the Hot 100 with his boys Florida-Georgia Line earlier this summer; now, Nelly has his newest studio album released this week, M.O., with single “Get Like Me” (featuring Nicki Minaj and Pharrell) at Urban radio.  (iTunes)
  • Other albums out this week include HAIM‘s Days Are Gone (iTunes), Joan Jett and the Heartbreakers‘s Unvarnished (iTunes), K-Ci and JoJo‘s My Brother’s Keeper (iTunes), Moby‘s Innocents (iTunes) and Randy Travis‘s Influence, Vol. 1: The Man I Am (iTunes).

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:

  • “Army Of 3 (EP)”, a new release from singer-songwriter Ingrid Michaelson. (iTunes)
  • “I’ll Wait For You”, from “A Thousand Miles” hit maker Vanessa Carlton. (iTunes)
  • “Love, Sex, Death”, new from indie rockers Fall Out Boy. (iTunes)
  • “Walking On Air”, another digital single from Katy Perry‘s latest album PRISM. (iTunes)

Next week, Miley Cyrus looks to twerk to the top with Bangerz, while Cassadee Pope and Panic! At The Disco also take flight with their new releases. Who will make it and where? Find out soon — a preview is coming on Tuesday, the 8th!

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews, Music News