Tag Archives: Timeflies

TURN IT UP TUESDAY: What’s New In Stores This Week (April 29)

Causing more "Trouble".

Causing more “Trouble”.

This set of releases isn’t the most interesting crew of the year, but if you’re down with some rockers, a pop duo and a violinist, you may be in luck. Here’s what albums and singles are in stores for the week of April 29:

  • With his first album in nearly four years, singer/songwriter Ray LaMontagne returns with his fifth studio effort, Supernova. The title track is currently at AAA radio and charting within the top 5. LaMontagne’s last two albums have both debuted at #3 on the Billboard 200; this will likely secure a debut around the same area. (iTunes)
  • Former America’s Got Talent contestant and independent artist Lindsey Stirling is back with her second album, Shatter Me. The violinist collaborated with Lzzy Hale and Dia Frampton on this set. Stirling 2012 self-titled effort was a major sleeper hit and this could potentially have a sizable first week number. (iTunes)
  • Everyday Robots is the first solo set for Damon Albarn, best known for his work as the lead singer of Blur. Albarn’s album is already selling extremely well across Europe, and while it won’t put up the same number here, it should attract a decent crowd. (iTunes)
  • Other releases out this week include: Old 97‘s Most Messed Up (iTunes), Pixies‘s Indie Cindy (iTunes), Rodrigo Y Gabriela‘s 9 Dead Alive (iTunes), Saliva‘s Rise Up (iTunes), Strange Talk‘s Cast Away (iTunes), Timeflies‘s After Hours (iTunes) and the soundtrack to the forthcoming film Neighbors (iTunes).

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:

  • “Bind Your Love”, another digital single from Cher Lloyd. (iTunes)
  • “Do It Again”, one track from a collaborative effort between Röyksopp & Robyn. (iTunes)
  • “Let Me In”, a track from Grouplove from the forthcoming soundtrack to The Fault In Our Stars. (iTunes)
  • “Lock Me Up” (+ EP), new from pop/rockers The Cab. (iTunes)
  • “Problem”, the new single from Ariana Grande and featuring Iggy Azalea. (iTunes)

With the soundtrack to Frozen still dominating, can new releases from Hunter Hayes, Lily Allen or even the fiftieth edition of NOW! That’s What I Call Music! warm the top of the chart? A full preview is coming in seven!

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews, Music News

TURN IT UP TUESDAY: What’s New In Stores This Week (April 2)

Can you "Dig" it?

They’re not “Done” yet.

This week’s crop of new releases is looking perry, perry nice, if you know what I mean. Here they are for the week of April 2:

  • This week’s biggest new release comes from the trio of siblings called The Band Perry. Their sophomore album, Pioneer, is chock full of more hit singles, like the former #1 Country song “Better Dig Two” and second release “Done.” Look for it to have a good shot of being next week’s top debut. (iTunes)
  • Like the Red Sox and baked beans, these guys just scream Boston. Former boy band, now man band New Kids On The Block are out with 10, featuring the single “Remix (I Like The)”. (iTunes)
  • Controversial rapper Tyler, The Creator puts out his third album today, Wolf. (iTunes)
  • A special tribute album to the late John Denver, entitled The Music Is You, rolls into stores today, featuring remakes by Dave Matthews, Train and more.  (iTunes)
  • The fifth studio album from Country singer Gretchen Wilson is released this week, Right On Time. She’s still independent, releasing on her own Redneck Records. (iTunes)
  • Metal band Killswitch Engage put out their first album since 2009, Disarm The Descent. First single “In Due Time” is at Active Rock radio now. (iTunes)
  • The #1 song on Christian CHR radio right now belongs to trio Hawk Nelson. “Words” comes from their new studio album Made. (iTunes)
  • 80-year-old (!) Petula Clark, best known for hits like “Downtown” and “My Love” in the 1960’s, is out with Lost In You. It recently hit the top 40 on the album chart in the United Kingdom. (iTunes)
  • Rockers Alkaline Trio proclaim that My Shame Is True, their first album in two years. (iTunes)

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:

It’s Paisley vs. Paramore next week — the Bradster goes up against the band, but who will triumph? A preview is coming in seven!

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews, Music News