Tag Archives: Tamia

NEW MUSIC FRIDAY: Releases For The Week of September 7, 2018

You say she’ll be #1…

Ooh, child, it’s another fantastic Friday in the music world with a fresh batch of new albums hitting the scene. These are the notable digital and physical releases headed into the market this Friday:

LAUREN DAIGLE – Look Up Child (iTunes)
Daigle is dominating the Christian charts with the lead single from this album, “You Say”, which looks poised to cross to other radio formats, having already reached the top five on iTunes and the middle portion of the Hot 100. It’s a very likely contender for #1, but there are several releases competing for the title, including a few steady streaming winners that could interfere.

PAUL MCCARTNEY – Egypt Station (iTunes)
Get in the carpool and sing along to McCartney’s newest album, which features the top ten Triple A radio song “Come On To Me”. It has a pretty good shot at becoming his third top five album on the Billboard 200 during the past decade, especially as one of the top upper demo records of the week.

Notable albums out this week: Case‘s Therapy (iTunes), Clutch‘s Book Of Bad Decisions (iTunes), Estelle‘s Lovers Rock (iTunes), Joey Purp‘s QUARTERTHING (iTunes), Lenny Kravitz‘s Raise Vibration (iTunes), MAGIC!‘s Expectations (iTunes), MNEK‘s Language (iTunes), Paul Simon‘s In The Blue Light (iTunes), Russ‘s ZOO (iTunes), Ruston Kelly‘s Dying Star (iTunes), Suicidal Tendencies‘s Still Cyco Punk After All These Years (iTunes), $uicideBoy$‘s I Want To Die In New Orleans (iTunes), Tamia‘s Passion Like Fire (iTunes), Sierra Burgess Is A Loser (Soundtrack) (iTunes)

Notable EPs out this week: Aaron Taos‘s August. (iTunes), DREAMERS‘s Fly (iTunes), Hozier‘s Nina Cried Power (iTunes), Lion‘s Lion (iTunes), Phangs‘s N°1 Loves You (iTunes), The Faim‘s Summer Is A Curse (iTunes), Wanderer‘s Skyline (iTunes)

New digital singles that you can buy this week include:
“All Fired Up”, Matt Corby (iTunes)
“Angels”, Tom Walker (iTunes)
“A$$hole (No Apologies)”, Max Frost (iTunes)
“Back & Forth”, MK featuring Jonas Blue and Becky Hill (iTunes)
“Be Alright (Acoustic)”, Dean Lewis (iTunes)
“Be Somebody”, Steve Aoki + Nicky Romero featuring Kiiara (iTunes)
“Blood // Water (AWOLNATION Remix)”, grandson (iTunes)
“Body And Soul”, teddy<3 (iTunes)
“Changing”, Conrad Sewell (iTunes)
“Cold Showers”, Chelsea Cutler (iTunes)
“College”, FINNEAS (iTunes)
“comethru”, Jeremy Zucker (iTunes)
“Consistent”, No/Me (iTunes)
“Crashing Waves” and “Perfect”, RØMANS (iTunes)
“Do You Ever Dream?”, Delta Rae (iTunes)
“Electricity”, Silk City featuring Dua Lipa (iTunes)
“End Up With You”, Carrie Underwood (iTunes)
“Everybody Dies”, Logic (iTunes)
“Eyes Wide Shut”, Glades (iTunes)
“Fake It”, Wingtip (iTunes)
“Feeling California”, Winnetka Bowling League (iTunes)
“F**k Being Friends”, Jessie Reyez (iTunes)
“Glow”, Gavin James (iTunes)
“Good Thing Gone”, Elle King (iTunes)
“Happy Now (Acoustic)”, Zedd & Elley Duhé (iTunes)
“Homesick”, Kane Brown (iTunes)
“How Can I Forget”, MKTO (iTunes)
“I Do”, Ashlee Simpson + Evan Ross (iTunes)
“I Feel It”, Fly By Midnight x Carly Paige (iTunes)
“Just Got Paid”, Sigala featuring Meghan Trainor, Ella Eyre and French Montana (iTunes)
“Karma”, Top Bunk (iTunes)
“Like I Used To”, Julia Knight (iTunes)
“Look In Her Eyes”, Rod Stewart (iTunes)
“Love Someone”, Lukas Graham (iTunes)
“Mad At You”, Noah Cyrus with Gallant (iTunes)
“Maybe, I”, Des Rocs (iTunes)
“No More Cryin'”, Steve Perry (iTunes)
“Psycho”, Lauren Aqualina (iTunes)
“Sober”, Tyde Levi (iTunes)
“Stronger”, The Score (iTunes)
“Superior Emotion”, AlunaGeorge featuring Cautious Clay (iTunes)
“Surprise Me”, Mahalia (iTunes)
“The Man”, Jamie Cullum (iTunes)
“The Only”, Sasha Sloan (iTunes)
“The Way I Am (Acoustic)”, Charlie Puth (iTunes)
“Want To”, Dua Lipa (iTunes)
“Watching Over”, Greta Van Fleet (iTunes)
“Way Down”, (iTunes)
“Why So Serious”, Alice Merton (iTunes)
“Willow”, FERGUS (iTunes)

Next week: look out for new albums from Carrie Underwood, David Guetta and more. For Adam’s personal picks of the week, listen to the PGTC Friday Faves list on Spotify!

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews

TURN IT UP MONDAY: What’s New In Stores This Week (June 8)

Drones approach the throne.

Drones approach the throne.

It’s time to take another flight into the Monday musical mists for the latest new releases, from rock to country to dance. (NOTE: some of the items listed below may not be available until Monday night based on label response time.) Here are the albums and singles that are new in stores for the week of June 8/9:

  • The English trio Muse has never had an album reach the top spot on the Billboard 200, though their last two studio sets have debuted and peaked at #3 and #2, respectfully. Drones may be the one to capture that top spot next week, as “Dead Inside” lands another week atop the Alternative survey. However, this concept album is very much alive. (iTunes)
  • From Iceland, the group called Of Monsters and Men are back with their first album in just over three years, Beneath The Skin. It features the single “Crystals”, currently a top ten hit on the Alternative chart. Of course, their first era led the quintet to four charting singles at the format. We’ll see if this set can do the same. (iTunes)
  • Aided by an iHeartMedia deal, Nashville newcomers A Thousand Horses rose to #1 on the Country airwaves last week with “Smoke”. Their album Southernality, featuring that tune and second single “(This Ain’t No) Drunk Dial”, is out now. It’ll likely have a medium-sized debut. (iTunes)
  • Christian Karlsson and Linus Eklöw make up the duo Galantis, and their album Pharmacy is a good prescription for the dance music fan this week. Single “Runaway (U & I)” is currently at CHR radio and broke the top ten in many countries in Europe. (iTunes)
  • Other releases out this week include: FFS‘s FFS (iTunes), HoneyHoney‘s 3 (iTunes), Montgomery Gentry‘s Folks Like Us (iTunes), Ryan Adams‘s Ten Songs from Live at Carnegie Hall (iTunes), Tamia‘s Love Life (iTunes), The Rolling Stones‘s reissue of Sticky Fingers (iTunes), The Karma Killers‘s Strange Therapy (EP) (iTunes), Tove Stryke‘s Kiddo (iTunes), Troy Ave‘s Major Without A Deal (iTunes), Young Guns‘s Ones And Zeros (iTunes) and the Various Artists compilation, Finding Neverland: The Album (Songs From the Broadway Musical) (iTunes).

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:

  • “Around The World”, new from Natalie La Rose and Fetty Wap. (iTunes)
  • “Family Is Family”, an instant grat track from Kacey Musgraves. (iTunes)
  • “Sweet Love Of Mine”, an instant grat track from Joy Williams. (iTunes)

Next week, Adam Lambert, James Taylor and Nate Ruess are among the acts with prominent new releases in what should be one of the summer’s busier weeks. Who takes the top? A full preview is coming on Monday night.

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews