Tag Archives: R5

NEW MUSIC FRIDAY: Releases For The Week of July 10, 2015

A fine way to "Shine".

A fine way to “Shine”.

We’ve made it to Friday! Yes, the Global Release Day is now in effect and rolling out worldwide. I guess we’ll see how this whole thing goes. There are several notable items out, so, here are this week’s new album and single releases:

  • YEARS & YEARS — Communion (iTunes)
    • Though “King” stalled out as it hit the top 40 on CHR radio, the English trio is going for their second #1 in a row in the U.K. with “Shine”. It should be next week’s top-selling album in that country given its momentum, but it’ll have to settle for a much lower debut here, perhaps in the top 20 or 30. We’ll see if that changes in the coming days.
  • R5 — Sometime Last Night (iTunes)
    • Disney’s pop/rock band, made up of four of the Lynch siblings (Riker, Rocky, Ross and Rydel) and friend Ellington Ratliff, pumps it up Louder on their sophomore album. Leadoff release “Let’s Not Be Alone Tonight” recently gave the five their first top 40 single (#38) on the CHR chart, thanks in part to a Cumulus block add.
  • VARIOUS ARTISTS — Paper Towns: Music From The Motion Picture (iTunes)
    • The film based on the John Green novel doesn’t debut until July 24, but this soundtrack, which features new tracks by Grouplove and Vance Joy, as well as Sam Bruno and her single, “Search Party”, should keep you satisfied a little while longer.
  • More albums out this week: Anderson East‘s Delilah (iTunes), Civil Twilight‘s Story Of An Immigrant (iTunes), Cody Simpson‘s Free (iTunes), Ezra Furman‘s Perpetual Motion People (iTunes), Hunter Hunted‘s Ready For You (iTunes), Kidz Bop Kids‘s Kidz Bop 29 (iTunes), Owl City‘s Mobile Orchestra (iTunes), Tyrese‘s Black Rose (iTunes) and the Various Artists compilation, Nina Revisited… A Tribute To Nina Simone (iTunes)
  • More EPs out this week: Flagship‘s Faded (iTunes), Jake Miller‘s Rumors (iTunes), Poema‘s Pretty Speeches (iTunes), ROMANS‘s Overthinking, Pt. 1 (iTunes)

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:

  • “Blue Bandana”, new from Jerrod Niemann. (iTunes)
  • “New Americana”, new from Halsey. (iTunes)
  • “Soap”, an instant grat track from Melanie Martinez. (iTunes)

Next Friday, our preview will include fresh releases from Alan Jackson, Sublime With Rome and Tame Impala. See you then!

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews

TURN IT UP TUESDAY: What’s New In Stores This Week (August 20)

Makin' "Paper".

Another day in Paradise.

Whether you’re running to the rodeo or cuddling up at the coffee shop, it’s music connecting those two hot spots this week for your list of releases out today, August 20:

  • Biggest week of the release comes from GRAMMY-winning singer and songwriter John Mayer. His sixth studio album, Paradise Valley, features collaborations with Frank Ocean and girlfriend Katy Perry. Two singles from it have been released thus far: “Paper Doll” and “Wildfire”. It will likely open at #2 behind Luke Bryan‘s Crash My Party, though it does have a slight chance of debuting at #1. (iTunes)
  • He’s wasted away again, but not in Margaritaville. Jimmy Buffett continues his island party with Songs From St. Somewhere, featuring a recent duet with Toby Keith, “Too Drunk To Karaoke”. It’s a hot seller on Amazon and could be top ten next week.  (iTunes)
  • Denver-based band The Lumineers have already gone Platinum with their debut self-titled album; now, a deluxe edition is out this week featuring a few new tracks and[ a cover of “This Must Be The Place (Naive Melody)” by Talking Heads. (iTunes)
  • Combining the talents of Tyrese, Ginuwine, and Tank, TGT is all over Urban AC radio with their first project together. Three Kings is out, which includes current hit, “I Need”. (iTunes)
  • Two movie soundtracks leap from the silver screen into stores this week: Kick Ass 2 (iTunes) and The Mortal Instruments. (iTunes)
  • Other albums out this week include A$AP Ferg‘s Trap Lord (iTunes), Blue October‘s Sway (iTunes), Frames by Lee DeWyze (iTunes) and Where You Stand by Travis. (iTunes)

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:

  • “Hurt You”, a classic R&B duet between Toni Braxton and Babyface. (iTunes)
  • “Loving You”, the first U.S. single release for Matt Cardle along with duet partner Melanie C. (iTunes)
  • “Next To Me”, already a hit in the U.S. for Emeli Sandé in a new mix with Alejandro Sanz. (iTunes)
  • “Pass Me By”, the latest single from the Lynch siblings, R5. (iTunes)
  • “That Girl”, the first solo single for Sugarland‘s vocalist Jennifer Nettles. (iTunes)
  • “Trying To Be Cool”, an Alternative hit for Phoenix as remixed by R. Kelly. (iTunes)

Rockers Avenged Sevenfold and rapper Big Sean top the list of new releases for next week… can either make it to #1? Stay tuned for our next update!

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews, Music News