Tag Archives: R. Kelly

NEW MUSIC FRIDAY: Releases For The Week of December 11, 2015

"Burning" up the charts.

“Burning” up the charts.

This week’s New Music Friday is full of potential stocking stuffers from the worlds of Country and R&B music, as well as a hidden gem or two. Here’s a look at this week’s top new albums and singles:

  • CAM — Untamed (iTunes)
    • “Burning House” is serving up some hot gains on the Country radio survey as of late, and it looks like it could be atop the chart early next year. There are plenty of things to celebrate for this 31-year-old singer/songwriter, now out with her major-label debut album this week. Look for it to be one of next week’s top new entries.
  • AUGUST ALSINA — This Thing Called Life (iTunes)
    • Last year, Alsina’s Testimony debuted and peaked at #2 on the Billboard 200 and included several big R&B hits. The current single from his latest album is “Song Cry”, and it’s approaching the top 30 at Urban radio. Even with the slow reaction to his releases so far this era, his album is probably bound for the top ten.
  • R. KELLY — The Buffet (iTunes)
    • Featuring the Urban AC hits “Back Yard Party” and “Wake Up Everybody”, this R&B performer’s new studio effort is his thirteenth solo album since 1993. His top ten streak on the album chart is unbroken thus far. Will it continue with his latest?
  • More albums out this week: Arcangel & DJ Luian‘s Los Favoritos (iTunes), Bethel Music Kids‘s Come Alive (iTunes), JennyLee‘s Right On! (iTunes), Joe Cocker‘s The Life Of A Man (iTunes), Juan Gabriel‘s Los Duo 2 (iTunes), Revenge Of The Dreamers II (iTunes)
  • More EPs out this week: Apollo LTD‘s Apollo LTD (iTunes), Grabbitz‘s Better With Time (iTunes)

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:

  • “Alcoholics”, Skizzy Mars (iTunes)
  • “A Wonderful Life”, Brian Fallon (iTunes)
  • “Better For You”, Tank (iTunes)
  • “Bob Marley”, Grizfolk (iTunes)
  • “Burning House”, EZA & Aaron Krause (iTunes)
  • “Pride”, American Authors (iTunes)
  • “UGH!”, The 1975 (iTunes)
  • “Want Some”, Akon featuring DJ Chose (iTunes)

Next week, we’ll have an update with new albums from Cage The Elephant, Chris BrownMonica and more. See you then!

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews

TURN IT UP TUESDAY: What’s New In Stores This Week (December 10)

Back in Black.

Back in Black.

Only one more week left before we take a short pause as the industry takes a breather, but for now, those new releases keep jingling and jangling as they look to sleigh the charts. Here are all the new albums and singles you need to know about for December 10:

  • The biggest release of the week comes from R&B star R. Kelly, out with his latest album called Black Panties. Single “Genius” is currently top ten on the Urban AC chart. It will likely be the highest debut on the chart, but not #1, which will probably be reserved by one of the two big Christmas albums of the year by the cast of Duck Dynasty or Kelly Clarkson. (iTunes)
  • Community actor Donald Glover is back as rapper Childish Gambino for his latest full-length album, Because The Internet. This one’s been generating a lot of buzz and several tracks from it have charted well on iTunes in advance of it, so don’t be surprised to see this entering into the top ten on the Billboard 200. (iTunes)
  • With the current #1 song on Country radio, a slow burner called “Carolina”, Parmalee is out with Feels Like Carolina. It also features their previous single, “Musta Had A Good Time”. (iTunes)
  • Two EPs with a bit of a country twang see a release this week: duo The Civil Wars strip it down with Bare Bones (iTunes) and the Zac Brown Band is out with The Grohl Sessions, Vol. 1 (iTunes), as produced by Dave Grohl.
  • On the soundtrack circuit this week, there are four between the movies and television that you should be checking out: from the big screen, American Hustle (iTunes), Mandela – Long Walk To Freedom (iTunes) and The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (iTunes), plus the first season two compilation from ABC’s Nashville (iTunes).
  • Other albums out this week include E-40‘s The Block Brochure: Welcome To The Soil, parts 4-6 (iTunes), Jesse McCartney‘s In Technicolor, Part 1 (iTunes), and Krystal Keith‘s Whiskey & Lace (iTunes).

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:

  • “Cannonball”, a first single from Lea Michele‘s first album, Louder. (iTunes)
  • “Confident”, the latest Music Mondays release from Justin Bieber featuring Chance The Rapper. (iTunes)
  • “La La La”, an international smash for Naughty Boy and Sam Smith. (iTunes)
  • “R U Crazy?”, a former top ten hit in the U.K. for Conor Maynard. (iTunes)
  • “Santa Baby”, from Ariana Grande featuring Liz Gillies. (iTunes)

B.o.B. and Justin Bieber lead the pack next week on our final Turn It Up Tuesday of 2013. Get ready!

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews, Music News