Tag Archives: Megadeth

NEW MUSIC FRIDAY: Releases For The Week of January 22, 2016

Eyes on the prize.

Eyes on the prize.

It’s another edition of New Music Friday, and while we won’t be winning any awards for this post, some of the acts featured in our new releases recap may be in possession of some trophies in a few weeks. Here are this week’s notable albums and singles:

  • VARIOUS ARTISTS — 2016 GRAMMY Nominees (iTunes)
    • The highest debut on next week’s chart (as Adele will likely return to #1) should be this album of nominees from the upcoming award show, which airs on February 15. The tracklisting includes songs from Ed Sheeran, Taylor Swift, The Weekend and much more.
  • MEGADETH — Dystopia (iTunes)
    • The Los Angeles hard rockers have been at it for over three decades now, and if their latest set makes the top ten, it’ll be their seventh title to do so on the Billboard 200. The title track from it is headed towards the top 40 on the Active Rock chart.
  • TANK — Sex, Love & Pain II (iTunes)
    • In 2007, the original Sex, Love & Pain debuted and peaked at #2 on the album chart, while also topping the R&B list. The latter may happen again, but it’ll likely only make the top 20 on the overall listing.
  • More albums out this week: Chairlift‘s Moth (iTunes), Coasts‘s Coasts (iTunes), Green River Ordinance‘s Fifteen (iTunes), King Charles‘s Gamble For A Rose (iTunes), RÜFÜS DU SOL‘s Bloom (iTunes), Savages‘s Adore Life (iTunes), Steve Angello‘s Wild Youth (iTunes), William McDowell‘s Sounds Of Revival (iTunes), The Hunchback Of Notre Dame (Cast Recording) (iTunes)
  • More EPs out this week: Bird Dog‘s Misty Shrub (iTunes)

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:

  • “Bake Sale”, Wiz Khalifa featuring Travi$ Scott (iTunes)
  • “Body”, Dreezy featuring Jeremih (iTunes)
  • “Dancing Around It”, Charles Kelley (iTunes)
  • “Figure Me Out”, The Summer Set (iTunes)
  • “Gingerbread Man”, Melanie Martinez (iTunes)
  • “Girl Next Door”, Brandy Clark (iTunes)
  • “I’m In Control” AlunaGeorge featuring Popcaan (iTunes)
  • “In The Dark”, Montaigne (iTunes)
  • “Unstoppable”, Sia (iTunes)

We’ll see you next week for new releases from Charlie Puth, Kevin Gates, Sia and more.

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews

TURN IT UP TUESDAY: What’s New In Stores This Week (June 4)

A "Safe" bet for some sales.

A “Safe” bet for some sales.

Five months down and we’re just getting started. Here’s your roundup of new releases out for the week of June 4:

  • In a week full of not-so-big releases, this is one of the larger ones. It’s the debut album from the duo Capital Cities, In A Tidal Wave Of Mystery. First single “Safe And Sound” is big at Alternative radio and is crossing over this summer. (iTunes)
  • My pick of the week belongs to Canada’s Barenaked Ladies, who are out with their first album since 2010, Grinning Streak. The lead single is “Boomerang”, a current top 20 single on my chart. (iTunes)
  • Queens Of The Stone Age are back together and putting out their first album in six years, …Like Clockwork. The ten track album contains current Alternative hit, “My God Is The Sun”. (iTunes)
  • Country singer turned tabloid item LeAnn Rimes is out with Spitfire, which was released in Australia and the United Kingdom back in April. There’s been limited promotion for the effort, which has pretty much been doomed from the start. (iTunes)
  • Heavy metal band Megadeth return with Super Collider, their fourteenth studio album since 1985. (iTunes)
  • The sixth studio album from the rock band Filter, Sun Comes Out Tonight, comes out today, featuring the single “What Do You Say”. (iTunes)
  • Oregon-based quintet Portugal. The Man man up once again for their second album on Atlantic Records, Evil Friends. (iTunes)
  • Another of the Tony nominees has an original soundtrack out this week: Motown: The Musical. The award show airs on Sunday night. (iTunes)
  • Glee star and singer Matthew Morrison does his take on some standard tunes on his second album, Where It All Began. (iTunes)
  • Other albums out this week include: Disclosure‘s Settle (iTunes), George Benson‘s Inspiration: A Tribute to Nat King Cole (iTunes), Ivy Levan‘s Introducing The Dame EP (iTunes), Lonestar‘s Life As We Know It (iTunes) and Quadron‘s Avalanche (iTunes).

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:

  • “Can’t Help”, the second single from Virginia-based band Parachute‘s third studio album. (iTunes)
  • “Release You”, new from the pop duo Megan & Liz. (iTunes)
  • “Slow Down”, the followup single to Selena Gomez‘s potent pop ditty, “Come & Get It”. (iTunes)
  • “Wasting All These Tears”, from former Hey Monday singer and The Voice winner Cassadee Pope. (iTunes)
  • “We Can’t Stop”, the first single from Miley Cyrus‘s forthcoming album. (iTunes)

Who will lead the pack next week? Big Time Rush? Goo Goo Dolls? A preview is coming in seven!

1 Comment

Filed under Album Reviews, Music News