Tag Archives: In This Moment

NEW MUSIC FRIDAY: Releases For The Week of July 21, 2017

A Rey of light on the charts.

It’s the middle of July, so get stuck in the middle of all these grand rock and rap releases hitting stores today. It’s sure to be one mighty musical match for #1! Here are the notable albums and singles this week:

LANA DEL REY – Lust For Life (iTunes)
After taking a small Honeymoon two years ago, the New York City singer and songwriter is ready for more love from the buying public with her fourth major-label album. It features a number of interesting collaborations, with performers like Stevie Nicks and The Weekend (on the title track) in the mix. Del Rey’s fan base is pretty big at this point, and I imagine they’ll be doing all they can to ensure a #1 debut for their queen.

MEEK MILL – Wins & Losses (iTunes)
This popular rapper is just below the top ten on Urban radio with the single “Whatever You Need”, featuring Chris Brown and Ty Dolla $ign. His previous set, Dreams Worth More Than Money, netted him some money when it debuted at #1 in 2015. On this particular week, it’s going to be harder to reach the top spot, but Mill could pull it off again.

TYLER, THE CREATOR – Flower Boy (iTunes)
Since 2011, all three of this rapper’s studio albums have reached the top five on the Billboard 200 chart with minimal radio play. So, this one should be another easy top five for the 26-year-old, given the millions of streams from his previous sets. “I Ain’t Got Time!” was the most recent single from the release, coming out earlier this week.

FOSTER THE PEOPLE – Sacred Hearts Club (iTunes)
Featuring “Doing It For The Money”, which ranks in the top 15 on the Alternative chart, this quartet (once a trio) is looking for a third top ten album on the Billboard 200. Three songs on this album appeared on an EP called III, which was released in April.

More albums out this week: Declan McKenna‘s What Do You Think About The Car? (iTunes), In This Moment‘s Ritual (iTunes), Romeo Santos‘s Golden (iTunes), Sage The Gemini‘s Morse Code (iTunes), Vera Blue‘s Perennial (iTunes), Descendants 2 (Soundtrack) (iTunes)

More EPs out this week: TBA

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:
“’93 (Acoustic)”, Youngr (iTunes)
“Ahead Of Myself”, X Ambassadors (iTunes)
“Back To You”, Louis Tomlinson featuring Bebe Rexha & Digital Farm Animals (iTunes)
“Body And Soul”, Kat Dahlia (iTunes)
“Dance with A Ghost”, Sara Hartman (iTunes)
“Edge Of The Night”, Sheppard featuring Sebastian Yatra (iTunes)
“Fine”, Noah Kahan (iTunes)
“Golden Age”, Late Night Episode (iTunes)
“idontwannabeyouanymore”, Billie Eilish (iTunes)
“Legends Are Made”, Sam Tinnesz (iTunes)
“Mattress”, Leland (iTunes)
“Poor Me”, Shania Twain (iTunes)
“Raincoat (Loote Remix)”, Timeflies featuring Shy Martin (iTunes)
“She’s On My Mind”, JP Cooper (iTunes)
“Something To Hold On To”, Emily Warren (iTunes)
“The Way I Love Her (Acoustic)”, Stanaj (iTunes)
“Wedding Crashers”, Aminé featuring Offset (iTunes)
“Would You Mind”, PRETTYMUCH (iTunes)

We’ll see you next week for new albums from Arcade Fire, Cage The Elephant and more. Listen to the PGTC Friday Faves list on Spotify!

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews

TURN IT UP MONDAY: What’s New In Stores This Week (November 17)

Four better or worse.

Four better or worse.

There’s only one direction that these overall sales are going… up! Q4 is in full effect with several six figure openings on tap for this batch of new releases. (NOTE: some of this week’s music releases may not be out until Tuesday dependent on label availability/iTunes response time.) Here’s what albums and singles are in stores for the week of November 17:

  • From “Steal My Girl” to “Night Changes” and all the instant grat tracks still on the charts, One Direction has a nice thing going for them in promoting their latest set, FOUR. The English quintet’s had two consecutive albums sell over 500,000 copies in the first week — will this be their third? Hard to tell at this point, but you know that another #1 on the Billboard 200 is a lock. (iTunes)
  • With their first album since 2011, Canadian rockers Nickelback are back in stores with No Fixed Address, released on the band’s new label, Republic. Single “Edge Of A Revolution” leaped to #1 on the Active Rock survey, but “What Are You Waiting For?” has stalled out in the 20’s at Hot AC. Look for this to land in the top five. (iTunes)
  • Singer and songwriter Lorde is credited as the curator for the soundtrack to the upcoming blockbuster The Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Pt. 1. The set includes four songs by or featuring the teen star, as well as acts like Charli XCX, Tinashe, Tove Lo and others. This could also crash the top five on the chart. (iTunes)
  • Serving up a multi-disc compilation that spans his decades of rich music is the legend himself, David Bowie, now in stores with Nothing Has Changed. Each edition of it features a different cover of him looking into the mirror during a different album era. It’s a great gift for hardcore fans. (iTunes)
  • Other releases out this week include: 5 Seconds Of Summer‘s Good Girls (EP) (iTunes), Bruce Springsteen‘s The Album Collection, Vol. 1 (1973-1984) (iTunes), Bryan Ferry‘s Avonmore (iTunes), Depeche Mode‘s Live In Berlin (iTunes), In This Moment‘s Black Widow (iTunes), Kristin Chenoweth‘s Coming Home (iTunes), Trisha Yearwood‘s PrizeFighter: Hit After Hit (Amazon), TV On The Radio‘s Seeds (iTunes), Wilco‘s Alpha Mike Foxtrot: Rare Tracks 1994 – 2014 (iTunes) and the following Various Artists compilations: Annie: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (iTunes), Christmas At Downton Abbey (iTunes), Punk Goes Pop, Vol. 6 (iTunes) and The Art Of McCartney (iTunes).

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:

  • “Different Colors”, a pre-release single from Walk The Moon. (iTunes)
  • “Flight”, new from pop/rockers Lifehouse. (iTunes)
  • “Text Me Merry Christmas”, a new holiday single from Straight No Chaser and Kristen Bell. (iTunes)
  • “Wrapped Up”, a collaboration from Olly Murs and Travie McCoy. (iTunes)

See you next Sunday night with new releases from David Guetta, Eminem, Rick Ross, Selena Gomez and more!

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews, Music News