Tag Archives: Gryffin

RADIO ACTIVE — A Weekly Chart CHRonicle (October 7, 2018)

Welcome to Radio Active, a Sunday evening report from POP! Goes The Charts that gets to the chart of the matter: all the highlights from the CHR/Top 40 chart, as published by Mediabase 24/7 and Mediabase Research. Q4 in the music industry is getting crazy, so prepare yourself for a massive shift after this week’s more quiet results. That being said, here’s what’s popping this Sunday:

SECONDS FOR SECONDS: No surprises at the top this week, as “Youngblood” by 5 Seconds Of Summer holds steady at #1 in the Top 40 world. As mentioned last week, it’s the first chart-topper at the format for the Australian band, who also rise to #6 on the latest Hot AC list. Surprisingly enough, “Youngblood” reaches the top 40 on a third chart this week: the AC survey, where the tune is up roughly 60 spins from last Sunday. With the global hit still in positive territory on the Top 40 airwaves, it could land a third week at the summit, but there are several competitors in the mix that, if not next week, will definitely be at the top later this month.

DO RE “ME”: Only one new title makes the top 40 this week at the format, with Kim Petras climbing from 42-40 with “Heart To Break”. It’s her first song to enter the region, making Petras one of the first transgender performers to pull off the feat. Several spots lower, we find three singles entering the top 50 this week. The highest, checking in at #47, is “Without Me” by Halsey, a singer who also appears at #14 as a vocalist on the Benny Blanco hit “Eastside”. Her newest single reached #2 on iTunes earlier this week. On a hot streak with her second chart entry here, another collaboration, Elley Duhé links with Gryffin for this week’s #48 single, “Tie Me Down”. It’s the first time in the top 50 for the New York-based musician and producer, born Dan Griffith, though he’s previously received some minor airplay at the fomat before. Lastly, at #49, Why Don’t We jumps aboard with their third chart entry, which is also the title cut from their recent album 8 Letters. Will all three songs reach the top 40 in the coming weeks? Stay tuned, folks.

Check out our Facebook, Instagram and Twitter pages for more chart coverage and commentary.

Leave a comment

Filed under Charts/Trade Papers

ADD LIB — Brace For (CHR) Impact (September 25, 2018)

Welcome to Add Lib, your Tuesday report on POP! Goes The Charts that’s mad about CHR/Top 40 adds, based on the station data provided by Mediabase 24/7 and Add Board. This week: Aussie newcomer Dean Lewis says “Alright” to a breakout week, but will it be enough to lead the list? How did new releases from AJ Mitchell and Gryffin fare? Let’s add ’em up:

THE DEAN’S LIST: Thunder, clouds and heavy breathin’ were key elements in the mix on this week’s Top 40 report, which have also come into play during the past few weeks, but despite LSD and newcomer Lewis looking to finish at the top, it was the new hit by Ariana Grande that secured the coveted spot by leaping past the latter performer by only one add. “Breathin” collects another 35 stations, as Lewis’s “Be Alright” begins with 34 on impact, while LSD scores an additional 31 this week. “Be” is picking up nicely on the Hot AC chart, where it should enter the top 20 very soon. Both Grande and LSD impacted at the format yesterday, though it wasn’t a close race at all: the former’s “Breathin” began with 15 stations in a second place finish, while the latter’s “Thunderclouds” finished below the top ten.

From there, AJ Mitchell‘s “Girls” and Gryffin‘s “Tie Me Down”, a collaboration with Elley Duhé, performed solidly, ending at a total of 29 stations for the former (fourth place) and 26 stations (fifth place) for the latter. It’s Mitchell’s first release to be issued to the Top 40 format, though Gryffin’s collaboration with Illenium and Daya, “Feel Good”, picked up some minor spins here earlier in the year, largely due to mixshows and more progressive outlets. (The song was a bigger hit on the Dance chart.)

Stay tuned for next week to see where new singles from Shawn Mendes and Twenty One Pilots land in the top ten.

1. ARIANA GRANDE, “Breathin” (Republic)
2. DEAN LEWIS, “Be Alright” (Island/Republic)
3. LSD (LABRINTH/SIA/DIPLO), “Thunderclouds” (RECORDS/Columbia)
4. AJ MITCHELL, “Girls” (Epic)
5. GRYFFIN with ELLEY DUHÉ, “Tie Me Down” (Darkroom/Geffen/Interscope)
6. SILK CITY & DUA LIPA, “Electricity” (Columbia)
7-T. MIKE POSNER, “Song About You” (Island/Republic)
7-T. PANIC! AT THE DISCO, “High Hopes” (Fueled By Ramen/RRP)
7-T. YG featuring 2 CHAINZ, BIG SEAN & NICKI MINAJ, “Big Bank” (Def Jam)
10. TRAVIS SCOTT, “Sicko Mode” (Epic)

Check out our Facebook, Instagram and Twitter pages for more adds coverage and commentary.

Leave a comment

Filed under Charts/Trade Papers

RADIO REPORT: What’s Popping At Top 40 Radio This Week (September 24-25, 2018)

It’s time once again to analyze the airwaves and find out if your favorite new releases will be lighting up your local station’s playlist this week. Which tunes will climb to the top and which ones will hit a stop? Here are four tracks impacting this week at the Top 40 format:

AJ MITCHELL – “Girls” (Epic)
EP: Hopeful (2018)
Past T40 History: Mitchell is a newcomer here. It’s unrelated to a 2014 song with the same title by The 1975, which reached #28.

DEAN LEWIS – “Be Alright” (Island/Republic)
Album: TBA (2018)
Past T40 History: Lewis is a newcomer here. His single, which is nearing the top 20 at Hot AC radio, hit #1 in his native Australia.

GRYFFIN & ELLEY DUHÉ – “Tie Me Down” (Darkroom/Geffen)
Album: TBA (2018)
Past T40 History: Gryffin has received Top 40 airplay in the past, but hasn’t charted. Duhé sings on Zedd‘s release “Happy Now”.

YG featuring 2 CHAINZ, BIG SEAN & NICKI MINAJ – “Big Bank” (Def Jam)
Album: Stay Dangerous (2018)
Past T40 History: Three of the artists (excluding Minaj) on this single have only reached the top ten here as a featured performer.

Next week: It all falls on ODESZA and Sasha Sloan to slay the panel with their collaboration. Find out how it does on Tuesday.

Which of these new songs would you like to see top the charts? Let me know!

Check out our Facebook, Instagram, SoundCloud, Spotify and Twitter pages!

Leave a comment

Filed under POP! Goes The Picks (Radio), Single Reviews