Tag Archives: Gary Clark Jr.

NEW MUSIC FRIDAY: Releases For The Week of September 11, 2015

His "Lose" is winning.

His “Lose” is winning.

This week’s New Music Friday takes us to the Prairie State and beyond with a solid pack of releases, including a number of great new singles and instant grat tracks. Here’s a look at the week’s new album and single releases:

  • BRETT ELDREDGE — Illinois (iTunes)
    • His last studio album just missed the top ten on the Billboard 200 a few years ago, but I think Eldredge has a great chance to make it in this time around. Of course, his latest effort is being aided by the single “Lose My Mind”, a top five single on the Country radio chart that could grab the top spot come October. We shall see pretty soon.
  • BRING ME THE HORIZON — That’s The Spirit (iTunes)
    • This English quintet has a bigger following overseas, especially in Australia, than in the United States, but they get a fair amount of fans out for the first week. Like Eldredge, they’ve debuted in the top 20 on the Billboard 200, but a top ten set has yet to happen. Perhaps their spirits will be lifted with the final result this time.
  • DURAN DURAN — Paper Gods (iTunes)
    • It’s incredible to see this act still putting out great music several decades into their career. If you read up on my top 40 chart, you know that their single “Pressure Off” has been #1 for three weeks now. There are many shining tunes in this set of songs and it’s definitely my pick of the week.
  • More albums out this week: Austin Plaine‘s Austin Plaine (iTunes), Beirut‘s No No No (iTunes), Ben Folds‘s So There (iTunes), Colton Dixon‘s The Calm Before The Storm (iTunes), Gary Clark Jr.‘s The Story Of Sonny Boy Slim (iTunes), Hollywood Vampires‘s Hollywood Vampires (iTunes), Jay Rock‘s 90059 (iTunes), Jess Glynne‘s I Cry When I Laugh (U.S. edition) (iTunes), Jewel‘s Picking Up The Pieces (iTunes), Leona Lewis‘s I Am (iTunes), Nero‘s Between II Worlds (iTunes), Slayer‘s Repentless (iTunes)
  • More EPs out this week: Aaron Krause‘s Jade (iTunes), Dallas Smith‘s Kids With Cars (iTunes), Francesco Yates‘s Francesco Yates (iTunes), Marty‘s Marty For President (iTunes)

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:

  • “As Time Goes”, JR JR (iTunes)
  • “Big Trouble”, Outasight (iTunes)
  • “Book Of Love”, Felix Jaehn featuring Polina (iTunes)
  • “Catfish”, Tamar Braxton (iTunes)
  • “Clean”, The Japanese House (iTunes)
  • “Clearest Blue”, CHVRCHES (iTunes)
  • “Crazy”, Timeflies (iTunes)
  • “Do You Ever” and “Every Time I’m With You”, Seal (iTunes)
  • “Fell In The Sun”, Big Grams (iTunes)
  • “Friends”, Raury featuring Tom Morello (iTunes)
  • “I Feel Good”, Thomas Rhett featuring LunchMoney Lewis (iTunes)
  • “Movin’ On”, Firekid (iTunes)
  • “Music To Watch Boys To”, Lana Del Rey (iTunes)
  • “Never Forget You”, MNEK and Zara Larsson (iTunes)
  • “No Harm Is Done”, Christine And The Queens featuring Tunji Ige (iTunes)
  • “Ooh Girl”, Jovanie (iTunes)
  • “Outcast”, Shinedown (iTunes)
  • “Rum Is The Reason”, Toby Keith (iTunes)
  • “Same Old Love”, Selena Gomez (iTunes)
  • “Stand By You”, Rachel Platten (iTunes)
  • “Story To Tell”, Alicia Keys featuring QB (iTunes)
  • “Today’s The Day”, P!nk (iTunes)
  • “Train In The Distance”, Don Henley (iTunes)

Next Friday, our preview will include new albums from Andy Mineo, Mac MillerShinedown and more. See you then!

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews