Tag Archives: Bear Hands

NEW MUSIC FRIDAY: Releases For The Week of April 15, 2016

Earth to Surgill, prepare for liftoff...

Earth to Surgill, prepare for liftoff…

The music world didn’t seem to get the memo about Earth Day being next Friday, but I guess we’ll take what we can get. Two of the planet’s potential chart-toppers and a whole lot more are here, so let’s get to this week’s album and single releases:

  • STURGILL SIMPSON — A Sailor’s Guide To Earth (iTunes)
    • Simpson’s last two independent albums, produced by Dave Cobb, were both critical successes and got him a major label deal. However, this set finds him writing and self-producing nearly the whole thing. Despite the changes, it’ll still be a success on the charts next week. First single “Brace For Impact (Live A Little)” finds itself in the top 40 on Triple A radio and moving up.
  • MUSIQ SOULCHILD — Life On Earth (iTunes)
    • Born Taalib Johnson, the R&B musician’s first album was released in 2000, and his first six studio sets debuted in the top five on the R&B charts. (Two of those went to #1 on the Billboard 200 listing.) His latest album features “I Do”, which holds just below the top ten on Urban AC radio.
  • BEAR HANDS — You’ll Pay For This (iTunes)
    • Formed a decade ago in Brooklyn, this quartet now has their third top 20 hit in a row on the Alternative chart with “2AM”. Their last album couldn’t quite break the Billboard 200, but given their rise in radio presence over the last few years, it’s their time to shine in 2016.
  • More albums out this week: Ace Frehley‘s Origins Vol. 1 (iTunes), Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros‘s PersonA (iTunes), Javier Colon‘s Gravity (iTunes), Lita Ford‘s Time Capsule (iTunes), Marie Osmond‘s Music Is Medicine (iTunes), Phil Collins‘s reissues of No Jacket Required (iTunes) + Testify (iTunes), PJ Harvey‘s The Hope Six Demolition Project (iTunes), Santana‘s Santana IV (iTunes), Wild Belle‘s Dreamland (iTunes)
  • More EPs out this week: James TW‘s First Impressions (iTunes), The Young Wild‘s All The Luck (iTunes)

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:

  • “Amerika”, Young The Giant (iTunes)
  • “Forget Me Now”, Against The Current (iTunes)
  • “Hear Me Now”, 3OH!3 (iTunes)
  • “I Remember”, AlunaGeorge and Flume (iTunes)
  • “Just A Lil’ Thick (She’s Juicy)”, Trinidad James featuring Mystikal and Lil Dicky (iTunes)
  • “Just Like Fire”, P!nk (iTunes)
  • “Look Alive”, Rae Sremmurd (iTunes)
  • “Magnetised”, Tom Odell (iTunes)
  • “Paradise”, Matoma & Sean Paul featuring KStewart (iTunes)
  • “Ribcage”, Andy Black (iTunes)
  • “Stones In My Passway”, Eric Clapton (iTunes)
  • “Strive”, A$AP Ferg featuring Missy Elliott (iTunes)
  • “Take It From Me”, KONGOS (iTunes)
  • “What The Hell Did I Say”, Dierks Bentley (iTunes)

We’ll see you next week for new releases from A$AP FergBlue OctoberWe Are Messengers and more.

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews