NEW MUSIC FRIDAY: Releases For The Week of October 12, 2018

You Mai proceed.

Reactive R&B and rap titles lead this week’s New Music Friday report, as Q4 continues to bring on the hits. These are the notable digital and physical releases hitting the market today:

ELLA MAI – Ella Mai (iTunes)
Mai has become one of the breakout R&B stars of 2018, with “Boo’d Up” and “Trip” scoring well at Rhythmic and Urban radio, as the former track slows down at the Top 40 format following a minor crossover. With notable playlisting already in effect overseas and solid sales and streaming expected here, the self-titled set should have one of next week’s higher debuts.

QUAVO – Quavo Huncho (iTunes)
From the rap trio Migos, this performer has often appeared as a featured artist on a growing list of big singles, but this release is his first solo studio album. Prominent features include Cardi B, Drake and Travis Scott, so expect streaming stats for the new release to be fairly high.

YOUNG THE GIANT – Mirror Master (iTunes)
Featuring the recent top 20 Alternative song “Simplify” and follow-up single “Superposition”, the fourth studio album for this act will look to break the top 20 on the Billboard 200 chart, much like their last album did two years ago.

Notable albums out this week: Basement‘s Beside Myself (iTunes), Belly‘s Immigrant (iTunes), Jess Glynne‘s Always In Between (iTunes), Jimmie Allen‘s Mercury Lane (iTunes), Kurt Vile‘s Bottle It In (iTunes), Morgan Evans‘s Things That We Drink To (iTunes), Nico Santos‘s Streets Of Gold (iTunes), TobyMac‘s The Elements (iTunes), Tom Morello‘s The Atlas Underground (iTunes)

Notable holiday albums out this week: Eric Clapton‘s Happy Xmas (iTunes), LeAnn Rimes‘s It’s Christmas, Eve (TV Soundtrack) (iTunes), The Monkees‘s Christmas Party (iTunes)

Notable EPs out this week: Ashlee + Evan‘s Ashlee + Evan (iTunes), Kim Cesarion‘s Bleed (iTunes), Nicklas Sahl‘s Planets (iTunes), Youngr‘s Obsession (iTunes)

New digital singles that you can buy this week include:
“11:59” and “Ringing In My Ears”, Chris Ayer (iTunes)
“80’s Baby”, New Kids On The Block / Salt-N-Pepa / Naughty By Nature / Tiffany / Debbie Gibson (iTunes)
“Angels (Kia Love and M-22 Remixes)”, Tom Walker (iTunes)
“Be Somebody (Tyron Hapi Remix)”, Steve Aoki + Nicky Romero featuring Kiiara (iTunes)
“Bells”, The Unlikely Candidates (iTunes)
“Bring Me Love” and “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas”, John Legend (iTunes)
“Can’t Knock The Hustle”, Weezer (iTunes)
“Come A Little Closer”, Skizzy Mars & Prelow (iTunes)
“Come Together”, SVRCINA (iTunes)
“Consequences (Orchestra)”, Camila Cabello (iTunes)
“Cowboy”, ALMA (iTunes)
“Cycles”, ANNALIA (iTunes)
“Dazed & Confused (Acoustic)”, Ruel featuring Ezinma (iTunes)
“Don’t Look Me Over”, Luke Christopher (iTunes)
“Drunk As Hell”, Lost Kings featuring Jesper Jenset (iTunes)
“Easy”, Great Good Fine OK (iTunes)
“Emotion”, Astrid S (iTunes)
“Expectations”, Lauren Jauregui (iTunes)
“Fashion After All”, Poppy (iTunes)
“Give Me My Name Back”, Meg Mac (iTunes)
“Hold Me Up”, Sam Tinnesz (iTunes)
“Home”, Cheat Codes (iTunes)
“I Wish You Were Here (Acoustic)”, HRVY (iTunes)
“Ice Cold”, Netsky & David Guetta (iTunes)
“If You Were Mine (KC Lights Remix)”, Ocean Park Standoff (iTunes)
“Last Call”, Hudson Thames (iTunes)
“Let Go”, James Hersey featuring Filous (iTunes)
“Light On”, Maggie Rogers (iTunes)
“Lose Us”, Rozzi & Scott Hoying (iTunes)
“Loyal”, Paloma Faith (iTunes)
“Love You Anymore”, Michael Bublé (iTunes)
“Luck Pusher”, FINNEAS (iTunes)
“Medicine (Just Kiddin Remix)”, Robinson (iTunes)
“Mia”, Bad Bunny featuring Drake (iTunes)
“Miss You All The Time”, O.A.R. (iTunes)
“Moves (Wideboys Remix)”, Olly Murs featuring Snoop Dogg (iTunes)
“Nobody Knows You Anymore”, Kevin George (iTunes)
“Not A Damn Thing Changed”, Lukas Graham (iTunes)
“People”, LINES (iTunes)
“People You Love”, Matt Hartke (iTunes)
“Pieces”, Declan J Donovan (iTunes)
“Promises (David Guetta Remix)”, Calvin Harris & Sam Smith (iTunes)
“Recovery”, LP (iTunes)
“Rise & Fall”, Mike Perry featuring Cathrine Lassen (iTunes)
“Rose”, Allan Rayman (iTunes)
“Run That Back”, Sofi De La Torre (iTunes)
“Simple Romance”, Coin (iTunes)
“Table For One”, AWOLNATION featuring Elohim (iTunes)
“Telephone”, The Shadowboxers (iTunes)
“Telling All My Secrets”, Mitchell Tenpenny (iTunes)
“Under Pressure”, Shawn Mendes featuring teddy<3 (iTunes)
“When I’m Ready”, FRANKIE (iTunes)
“Wild And Free”, Kirsten Arian (iTunes)
“Woman Like Me”, Little Mix featuring Nicki Minaj (iTunes)
“Wondering”, M.O & Chip (iTunes)
“Wrapped Around The Axle”, Peter Bjorn & John (iTunes)
“Writer’s Song”, Bibi Bourelly (iTunes)
“Yesterday”, Virginia To Vegas (iTunes)

Next week: look out for new albums from Disturbed, Greta Van Fleet and more. For Adam’s personal picks of the week, listen to the PGTC Friday Faves list on Spotify!

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.