NEW MUSIC FRIDAY: Releases For The Week of August 17, 2018

A sweet escape for summer.

Following the death of the Queen of Soul, Aretha Franklin, fans of the performer have sent her classics up the charts with no end in sight. It’s bound to be an interesting week on the Billboard 200, especially with some top new releases out now. These are the notable digital and physical releases headed into the market this Friday:

ARIANA GRANDE – Sweetener (iTunes)
Grande’s new album includes the songs “No Tears Left To Cry” and “God Is A Woman”, and features collaborations with performers like Missy Elliott and Nicki Minaj. Given the sales and streaming momentum related to the death of Franklin, a full week of data may be enough for one of her many hits compilations to pull ahead of Grande’s set. It’s just too early to tell at this point. In any case, Sweetener will almost certainly be the highest-charting new release of the week.

Notable albums out this week: Aminé‘s ONEPOINTFIVE (iTunes), Cole Swindell‘s All Of It (iTunes), Dan Owen‘s Stay Awake With Me (iTunes), Death Cab For Cutie‘s Thank You For Today (iTunes), Matt Gresham‘s Who Am I Now (iTunes), Mitski‘s Be The Cowboy (iTunes)

Notable EPs out this week: Sabrina Claudio‘s No Rain, No Flowers (iTunes), Vory‘s Lucky Me (iTunes)

New digital singles that you can buy this week include:
“5 Dollars”, Christine & The Queens (iTunes)
“16 Steps (Club Edit)”, Martin Jensen & Olivia Holt (iTunes)
“A Lifetime To Repair (Edit)”, Kylie Minogue (iTunes)
“All I Am”, Jess Glynne (iTunes)
“Are You Ready?”, Disturbed (iTunes)
“Baby”, Bishop Briggs (iTunes)
“Best I Ever Had”, The Unlikely Candidates (iTunes)
“Bigger”, St. Lucia (iTunes)
“Cana”, Kid Ink featuring 24hrs (iTunes)
“Celoso”, Lele Pons (iTunes)
“Come Down (RAC Remix)”, Noah Kahan (iTunes)
“Crazy World”, MNEK (iTunes)
“Forgotten Love”, AURORA (iTunes)
“Free Mind”, Tash Sultana (iTunes)
“Fuh You”, Paul McCartney (iTunes)
“Girls Go Wild”, LP (iTunes)
“Goodbyes”, The Knocks featuring Method Man (iTunes)
“Happier”, Marshmello & Bastille (iTunes)
“HEART$”, Luke Christopher (iTunes)
“Honestly” and “Honestly (Encore)”, Gabbie Hanna (iTunes)
“Hurting”, SG Lewis featuring AlunaGeorge (iTunes)
“Keep In Touch”, Tory Lanez with Bryson Tiller (iTunes)
“Long Distance Runner”, Matt Nathanson (iTunes)
“Made For Now”, Janet Jackson featuring Daddy Yankee (iTunes)
“Masterpiece”, OMI & Felix Jaehn (iTunes)
“Might Not Make It Home”, LPX (iTunes)
“Naked”, Lo (iTunes)
“No Erasin'”, Steve Perry (iTunes)
“Nonchalant”, 6LACK (iTunes)
“Ocean (David Guetta Remix)”, Martin Garrix featuring Khalid (iTunes)
“Promises”, Calvin Harris & Sam Smith (iTunes)
“Pull Me Deep”, Logan Henderson (iTunes)
“Real For You”, James Hersey (iTunes)
“Real Friends”, Camila Cabello featuring Swae Lee (iTunes)
“Science”, Allie X (iTunes)
“So Mean”, Lions Head (iTunes)
“Sweet But Psycho”, Ava Max (iTunes)
“Tell Me That”, Tim Chadwick (iTunes)
“The Flute Song”, Russ (iTunes)
“Wish I Never Met You (Feather Remix)”, Loote (iTunes)
“You”, A Great Big World (iTunes)

Next week: look out for new albums from Alice In Chains, BTS and more. For Adam’s personal picks of the week, listen to the PGTC Friday Faves list on Spotify!

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.