NEW MUSIC FRIDAY: Releases For The Week of January 13, 2017

xx marks the spot.

xx marks the spot.

Prepare to rock on with your favorite alternative and indie acts in the latest batch of New Music Friday releases. Here are this week’s notable albums and singles:

THE XX – I See You (iTunes)
The English trio is out with their third studio album, featuring the single “On Hold”, a current top 30 hit on the Alternative chart. It’s likely to be in the running for next week’s Highest Debut, but will it reach the top spot? We can potentially See it. Stay tuned.

COLONY HOUSE – Only The Lonely (iTunes)
These four men from Tennessee look to have a notable entry on next week’s chart with this set, featuring “You & I”, which has airplay across some Alternative and Triple A stations. Don’t leave them Lonely, kids.

More albums out this week: Danny Gokey‘s Rise (iTunes), ONE OK ROCK‘s Ambitions (iTunes), The Flaming Lips‘s Oczy Mlody (iTunes)

More EPs out this week: David Bowie‘s No Plan (iTunes), Idina Menzel‘s Beaches (Soundtrack) (iTunes), Youngr‘s Acoustics (iTunes)

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:
“Back For Me”, Electric Guest (iTunes)
“Bite My Tongue”, The Beach (iTunes)
“Blindside”, Aquilo (iTunes)
“Cul De Sac (Stripped)” and “One & Lonely”, PHANGS (iTunes)
“Dance”, POWERS (iTunes)
“Detroit Or Buffalo (Under The Covers)”, Max Jury (iTunes)
“Do U Dirty”, Kehlani (iTunes)
“Doing Good”, Milky Chance (iTunes)
“How Did You Love (Acoustic)”, Shinedown (iTunes)
“Intro (Creatures Of Habit)”, Greta Isaac (iTunes)
“Issues”, Julia Michaels (iTunes)
“I Miss You”, Grey featuring Bahari (iTunes)
“Kids (Ain’t All Right)”, Grace Mitchell (iTunes)
“Not Afraid Anymore”, Halsey (iTunes)
“On My Way”, Tiësto featuring Bright Sparks (iTunes)
“Paris”, The Chainsmokers (iTunes)
“Phase Me Out”, VÉRITÉ (iTunes)
“Rhythm Inside (Acoustic)”, Calum Scott (iTunes)
“Sex For Breakfast”, Life Of Dillon (iTunes)
“The News”, Train (iTunes)
“Trouble”, The Knocks featuring Absofacto (iTunes)
“Up&Up”, Lennon & Maisy (iTunes)
“You Don’t Get Me High Anymore (A-Trak Remix)”, Phantogram featuring Joey Purp (iTunes)

We’ll see you next week for a new album from those Kidz Bop Kids, as well as the 2017 GRAMMY Nominees compilation. Listen to the PGTC Friday Faves list on Spotify!

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.