RECORD REWIND: PGTC Picks, 10/23 – 10/29

Record Rewind - October 30, 2016

Our new Record Rewind is about highlighting the top new songs that you may have missed, or should discover, from many of my favorite independent acts out there. If you like what you see, let me know what you think!

Across the PGTC SoundCloud page and my playlists on Spotify, these stuck out as my favorite independent songs of the week…


DAN OWEN – “Moonlight” (iTunes) (Spotify)
A few months ago, Owen did some damage on a number of Viral charts with a lovely ballad called “Made To Love You”. It stands at over 1.7 million plays to date on Spotify. His Open Hands And Enemies EP reveals more to the artist, including this standout song.


GREAT GOOD FINE OK – “Get Away” (iTunes) (Spotify)
Jon Sandler and Luke Moellman have been doing their thing for some time now, and with a new EP due at the top of the year, it’s a release to look forward to, especially with the consistency of their previous two EPs. This single is another catchy electropop tune.


JESSE RUBEN – “Scared Of America” (iTunes) (Spotify)
Ruben provided some sunny pop rays with his delightful “First Day Of Summer” in mid-July, but this release is much more serious in tone. It’s real life, and it’s raw. Released in acoustic form, rather than a studio cut, it underscores the solemn nature of the tales.


SLOW SUGAR – “Shotgun” (iTunes) (Spotify)
They might have slow in their act name, but this New York City duo is quickly becoming a favorite of mine. This is their third track to appear on the Rewind since August, and it’s a wicked musical weapon that pierces the pop world in all its edgy glory. Great song.


YOUNG SUMMER – “Heart In Slo Mo” (iTunes) (Spotify)
After a solid run of four EP cuts to be included in the Rewind, let’s extend that total to five. Featured on You Would Have Loved It Here, which came out two days ago, “Heart” is Bobbie Allen in her element, gliding over the beat of a new wave-influenced winner.


For more great new music, these tunes are worth a listen…
ANDREW BELLE – “You” (SoundCloud)
JAKIL – “Unforgivable” (SoundCloud)
SCOTT QUINN – “Delicate” (SoundCloud)
YOUNG TIDES – “Easy Love” (SoundCloud)

Want to be featured on this weekly wrap-up? Submit your music to and I’ll check it out. Thanks!

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews, Playlists, Single Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.