RECORD REWIND: PGTC Picks, 8/21 – 8/27

Record Rewind - August 28, 2016

Our new Record Rewind is about highlighting the top new songs that you may have missed, or should discover, from many of my favorite independent acts out there. If you like what you see, let me know what you think!

Across the PGTC SoundCloud page and my playlists on Spotify, these stuck out as my favorite independent songs of the week…


CAPE CUB – “All I Need” (iTunes) (Spotify)
It’s amazing to have a new song from Chad Male, who released his Closer EP back in the spring. That set yielded great singles like “Keep Me In Mind” and “Swim”. His return marks a fuller sound and more of a new wave sensibility, one that fits with the singer.


FLETCHER – “Wasted Youth” (iTunes) (Spotify)
She’s a queen of streams, and she’s back where she belongs: on your favorite Spotify New Music Friday playlist. Leaping towards a total of 42 million plays at the service, her latest single is perhaps her best since “War Paint”. It’s certainly not a wasted release.


GOLDEN COAST – “Recess” (iTunes) (Spotify)
Do you ever wish you were back on the swings or the monkey bars, reliving the joy of being young again? The Los Angeles duo of Denny White and Steven Mudd want to take you out of the darkness and onto this pop playground. I hope this slides onto radio.


PHANGS – “Cul De Sac” (iTunes) (Spotify)
From leading the Cardboard Kids to debuting his new solo project, Jake Germany has plenty of sounds to make the rounds. That consistent output provides us with another cool single. His song title might be a dead-end street, but his career is one open road.


ROYAL TONGUES – “Overdose” (iTunes) (Spotify)
The boys from Buffalo, Aaron Bonus and Justin Gammella, are back with their first new release in nearly four months. In May, it was “Oblivion”. Now, sticking with the “O” titles, their prescription for energetic production and indie pop goodness will heal all.


THE NEW COAST – “Slow Down” (iTunes)
We last heard from Nick Blyth and Chris Cheater earlier this year, when “Lost In Your Love” had its debut on blogs and playlists. Their Paraga Beach EP comes out November 4, but given these two great tracks, the other half of the EP should be just as solid.


YOUNG SUMMER – “Fallout” (iTunes) (Spotify)
At this point, you know I’m excited about the upcoming EP from Bobbie Allen. Each cut released so far is different musically, and I can’t wait to hear the full thing. She released this lush ballad earlier this week, soothing with its dulcet tones and pretty melody.


For more new music, these tunes are worth a listen…
KIAH VICTORIA – “Hollow” (SoundCloud)
MYZICA featuring EZRA CAREY – “Drive” (SoundCloud)
TRUITT – “Fallback” (SoundCloud)

Want to be featured on this weekly wrap-up? Submit your music to and I’ll check it out. Thanks!

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews, Playlists, Single Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.