NEW MUSIC FRIDAY: Releases For The Week of August 12, 2016

Young and giants.

Young and giants.

We have a mixed bag of music for the middle of August. On this week’s schedule, you’ll find fresh sounds in Rock, Rap, R&B… and there’s even Moore in the mix. (See what I did there?) Here are the new and notable albums and singles for the week:

  • YOUNG THE GIANT — Home Of The Strange (iTunes)
    • Looking to score one of next week’s top debuts is this California band’s third studio album, led by the new Alternative radio hit “Something To Believe In”. Their last set debuted in the top ten, and this one could get into the top five. The peak, should it be accomplished, would be a new high for them on the Billboard 200.
  • JUSTIN MOORE — Kinda Don’t Care (iTunes)
    • Moore recently hit the top ten on the Country radio chart with “You Look Like I Need A Drink”, but it took him a very long time (and maybe a few drinks) to get there. Will it be enough to propel his album up into the top ten next week?
  • RAE SREMMURD — SremmLife 2 (iTunes)
    • This Mississippi sibling duo had a big debut in 2014, and a very successful 2015, but their radio and retail success just hasn’t been the same in their sophomore era. Despite the slump, there’s still interest for the project.
  • More albums out this week: Atmosphere‘s Fishing Blues (iTunes), Blind Pilot‘s And Then Like Lions (iTunes), Cody Jinks‘s I’m Not The Devil (iTunes), Dylan Scott‘s Dylan Scott (iTunes), Of Montreal‘s Innocence Reaches (iTunes), PARTYNEXTDOOR‘s PARTYNEXTDOOR 3 (iTunes), The Amity Affliction‘s This Could Be Heartbreak (iTunes), The Get Down (Soundtrack) (iTunes)
  • More EPs out this week: Florence + The Machine‘s Songs From Final Fantasy XV (iTunes), Kid Runner‘s Body Language (iTunes), Michl‘s Michl (iTunes), SonReal‘s The Name (iTunes), Stanaj‘s The Preview (iTunes)

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:

  • “Alive”, EZA (iTunes)
  • “Anything But Words”, Banks & Steelz (iTunes)
  • “Back To Free”, Drake White (iTunes)
  • “Bang Bang”, Green Day (iTunes)
  • “Black Crow”, Brent Cobb (iTunes)
  • “Clumsy”, Britney Spears (iTunes)
  • “Cold Hard Love”, Tory Lanez (iTunes)
  • “Colors”, The Head And The Heart (iTunes)
  • “Cross My Mind”, A R I Z O N A (iTunes)
  • “Cruel World”, Phantogram (iTunes)
  • “Good Thing”, Jake Miller (iTunes)
  • “Grief And Praise”, Glen Phillips (iTunes)
  • “Gum (Everybody’s My Friend)”, Oyster Kids (iTunes)
  • “Hardened Heart”, Tom Chaplin (iTunes)
  • “Hide And Go Seek”, Hannah Jane Lewis (iTunes)
  • “Hold On, I’m Coming”, Melissa Etheridge (iTunes)
  • “Island”, Florida Georgia Line (iTunes)
  • “Kids”, OneRepublic (iTunes)
  • “Live My Life”, Aloe Blacc (iTunes)
  • “Making Love With The Radio On”, Gavin DeGraw (iTunes)
  • “Move”, Saint Motel (iTunes)
  • “Out Of My Head”, The Griswolds (iTunes)
  • “Pray (Empty Gun)”, Bishop Briggs (iTunes)
  • “Pure”, Hey Violet (iTunes)
  • “Shameless”, Tyler Glenn (iTunes)
  • “Small Bill$”, Regina Spektor (iTunes)
  • “Speechless”, GLADES (iTunes)
  • “Super Natural”, Danny L Harle featuring Carly Rae Jepsen (iTunes)
  • “This House Is Not For Sale”, Bon Jovi (iTunes)
  • “Trust Issues”, Olivia O’Brien (iTunes)
  • “Young Kids, Old Love”, Otis English (iTunes)

We’ll see you next week for new releases from Dolly Parton, French Montana, Tory Lanez and more.


Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.