NEW MUSIC FRIDAY: Releases For The Week of July 29, 2016

Major debut alert.

Major debut alert.

Don’t think I’ve ever considered being a locksmith as a career, but by the amount of keys referenced in this week’s top new release, perhaps there’s a business opportunity on the horizon. Here’s a look at the new and notable albums and singles on the schedule:

  • DJ KHALED — Major Key (iTunes)
    • When your imprint has three of the top 20 singles at both Rhythmic and Urban radio, I’d say you’re doing pretty well for yourself. That’s indeed the case for this 40-year-old DJ/producer from Miami, who will likely reach the top of the iTunes listing faster than you can shout “WE THE BEST MUSIC!” Major key for this release: selling enough copies to defeat Drake‘s Views.
  • JAKE OWEN — American Love (iTunes)
    • Owen’s fifth studio album features the single “American Country Love Song”, which is rising in the top ten at Country radio. He’s certainly the patriotic performer this era, and he’ll likely have a top 20 entry on the Billboard 200 chart.
  • FANTASIA — The Definition Of… (iTunes)
    • It’s been 12 years since Barrino became the third American Idol, and this week, she’s back with her fifth studio album. The current single from it is “Sleeping With The One I Love”, a top 20 record on the Urban AC survey.
  • More albums out this week: Billy Talent‘s Afraid Of Heights (iTunes), Descendents‘s Hypercaffium Spazzinate (iTunes), Hillary Scott And The Scott Family‘s Love Remains (iTunes), Jarryd James‘s High (iTunes), Jason Derulo‘s Platinum Hits (iTunes), MAALA‘s Composure (iTunes), NAO‘s For All We Know (iTunes), Viola Beach‘s Viola Beach (iTunes), ZHU‘s Generationwhy (iTunes)
  • More EPs out this week: Michael Blume‘s When I Get It Right (iTunes)

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:

  • “Any Moment Now”, Barbra Streisand with Hugh Jackman (iTunes)
  • “Bad Decisions”, Two Door Cinema Club (iTunes)
  • “Closer”, The Chainsmokers featuring Halsey (iTunes)
  • “Comeback Kid”, The Band Perry (iTunes, August 1)
  • “Dang!”, Mac Miller featuring Anderson .Paak (iTunes)
  • “Fake It”, Bastille (iTunes)
  • “First Day Of Summer”, Jesse Ruben (iTunes)
  • “Flex”, Tory Lanez (iTunes)
  • “Fresh Eyes”, Andy Grammer (iTunes)
  • “F**k Apologies”, JoJo featuring Wiz Khalifa (iTunes)
  • “Howl At The Moon”, Nick Fradiani (iTunes)
  • “I Know A Girl”, The Preatures (iTunes)
  • “I Want To Live”, Skillet (iTunes)
  • “In The Name Of Love”, Martin Garrix featuring Bebe Rexha (iTunes)
  • “Killing Me”, Ofelia K (iTunes)
  • “Longest Days”, John Mellencamp (iTunes)
  • “Love Is A Burden”, Jamestown Revival (iTunes)
  • “Love Remains”, Hey Violet (iTunes)
  • “Playground”, High Dive Heart (iTunes)
  • “Run Run Blood”, Phantogram (iTunes)
  • “Somebody Else Will”, Justin Moore (iTunes)
  • “The Only Way Out”, Andra Day (iTunes)
  • “Three Empty Words”, Shawn Mendes (iTunes)
  • “Weekend Millionaires”, Katelyn Tarver (iTunes)
  • “When She Walks”, ELEL (iTunes)
  • “Zillionaire”, Flo Rida (iTunes)

We’ll see you next week for new releases from Chris Lane, DJ Snake, O.A.R. and more.


Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.