NEW MUSIC FRIDAY: Releases For The Week of July 22, 2016

All rapped up.

All rapped up.

We’ve hit the summer doldrums of the music industry this week. Unless Frank Ocean or Travis Scott drop their new albums, a superstar has a surprise set, or we somehow end up in a time warp to 1999, things are pretty barren. Here’s a quick look at the new and notable albums and singles this week:

  • LIL DURK — Durk 2X (iTunes)
    • The 23-year-old Chicago rapper is likely to have one of the higher debuts on next week’s chart, as his last set made its entrance in the top 20 on the Billboard 200. The current single from it is “Money Walk”, sitting just below the top 40 at Urban radio.
  • GUCCI MANE — Everybody Looking (iTunes)
    • This is the Alabama rapper’s first studio album since being released from prison, and several of the tracks are gaining nicely at streaming platforms. It’s hard to tell where it’ll place, but there’s definitely interest.
  • KEITH SWEAT — Dress To Impress (iTunes)
    • Sweat recently topped the Urban AC chart with “Good Love”. It could end up in the top 40 on the album listing, but it will likely be much bigger on the R&B survey.
  • More albums out this week: Crown The Empire‘s Retrograde (iTunes), HONNE‘s Warm On A Cold Night (iTunes), Periphery‘s Periphery III: Select Difficulty (iTunes), Relient K‘s Air For Free (iTunes), Stephen Marley‘s Revelation Part II: “The Fruit Of Life” (iTunes), Trent Dabbs‘s The Optimist (iTunes), Twisted Sister‘s Metal Meltdown (Live) (iTunes), Us The Duo‘s Just Love (iTunes)
  • More EPs out this week: (coming soon…)

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:

  • “Activated”, Cher Lloyd (iTunes)
  • “American Love”, Jake Owen (iTunes)
  • “Bleeding Heart”, Regina Spektor (iTunes)
  • “Cold Water”, Major Lazer featuring Justin Bieber &  (iTunes)
  • “Goldmine”, Colbie Caillat (iTunes)
  • “Greenlight”, Pitbull featuring Flo Rida and LunchMoney Lewis (iTunes)
  • “Hometown Girl”, ZHU (iTunes)
  • “Painting (Masterpiece)”, Lewis Del Mar (iTunes)
  • “Purple Lamborghini”, Skrillex & Rick Ross (iTunes)
  • “Sunday Smile”, Jake Troth (iTunes)

We’ll see you next week for new releases from DJ Khaled, Jake Owen, Jason DeruloZHU and more.


Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s