NEW MUSIC FRIDAY: Releases For The Week of May 27, 2016

Puttin' in that "Work" for #1.

Putting in that “Work” for a #1.

It might be the start of Memorial Day Weekend on the calendar, but the date is a little different in the music world. In fact, we’ll be launching a full two months ahead… at least when it comes to the week’s biggest release. Here are all the notable new albums and singles:

  • FIFTH HARMONY — 7/27 (iTunes)
    • The female quintet, who formed on the U.S. version of The X Factor several years ago, is on the verge of their first #1 at pop radio with “Work From Home”. They may also have a chance at their first #1 album on the Billboard 200 chart, but that’s going to depend on their stream counts and track sales during the week. Regardless of position, an exciting first week awaits them.
  • DIERKS BENTLEY — Black (iTunes)
    • Bentley recently hit #1 on the Country airplay listing with “Somewhere On A Beach”, which is a pretty popular spot on any holiday weekend. This is his eighth studio set under his major-label deal, and six of them (plus a seventh set in the form of a hits compilation) have gone top ten. Will that dark title see the light next week? Stay tuned.
    • The British rockers have their biggest hit to date on our Alternative survey with “Soundcheck”, currently in the top 15. As far as album sales go, this group is much bigger in their homeland, but there should be a notable rise in sales and peak (compared to their last effort) on the Billboard 200.
  • More albums out this week: ABC‘s The Lexicon Of Love II (iTunes), Band Of Skulls‘s By Default (iTunes), Beth Orton‘s Kidsticks (iTunes), Flume‘s Skin (iTunes), Ro James‘s Eldorado (iTunes), The Monkees‘s Good Times! (iTunes), Alice Through the Looking Glass (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) (iTunes)
  • More EPs out this week: Barns Courtney‘s Hands (iTunes), The Rival‘s Waves (iTunes)

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:

  • “80’s Films”, Jon Bellion (iTunes)
  • “All The Way Up (Remix)”, Fat Joe & Remy Ma featuring Jay Z and French Montana (iTunes)
  • “Divorce Separation Blues”, The Avett Brothers (iTunes)
  • “Healing”, Vinyl Thief (iTunes) (available May 30)
  • “One Of Those Days”, Little Big Town (iTunes)
  • “Ramble On”, Train (iTunes)
  • “Solemn Oath”, Band Of Horses (iTunes)
  • “Unforgettable”, Sia (iTunes)

We’ll see you next week for new releases from Dan + ShayMaren MorrisTrain and more.

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.