NEW MUSIC FRIDAY: Releases For The Week of February 26, 2016

Time travel never sounded so good.

Time travel never sounded so good.

Whether you like the 1970’s, the 2010’s, or both decades, this week’s New Music Friday has music that’s good for all ages. Here are this week’s album and single releases:

  • THE 1975 — I like it when you sleep, for you are so beautiful yet so unaware of it (iTunes)
    • The most anticipated album this week comes from the British quartet behind “Chocolate”, “Girls” and “Love Me”. Will the American buying public love them? I think so. A top five entry looks likely for the new set, a notable jump from the #28 peak of their self-titled debut. We’ll see if they can blast past the likes of Adele and Justin Bieber to claim their first chart-topping album.
  • MACKLEMORE & RYAN LEWIS — This Unruly Mess I’ve Made (iTunes)
    • Attention, thrift shoppers, your favorite Seattle duo is back with what is truly a Mess of an era so far. In what may be the next case of a sophomore slump, this act’s “Downtown” barely touched the top ten on pop radio. Several of the collaborations released since then have failed to chart. Better luck next time, boys?
  • WALK THE MOON — You Are Not Alone (Live At The Greek) (iTunes)
    • The band’s first full-length live album was recorded at The Greek Theatre in Los Angeles, and features their latest single “Work This Body”. The set includes a mix of cuts from their self-titled album and Talking Is Hard.
  • More albums out this week: Bonnie Raitt‘s Dig In Deep (iTunes), Brian McKnight‘s Better (iTunes), Chuck Wicks‘s Turning Point (iTunes), From Ashes To New‘s Day One (iTunes), Hands Like Houses‘s Dissonants (iTunes), Hillsong Young & Free‘s Youth Revival (Live) (iTunes), Novelists‘s Souvenirs (iTunes), Phil Collins‘s deluxe editions of Dance Into The Light (iTunes) and Hello, I Must Be Going (iTunes), Run River North‘s Drinking From A Salt Pond (iTunes), Santigold‘s 99 Cents (iTunes), School Of Seven Bells‘s SVIIB (iTunes), The Dunwells‘s Light Up The Sky (iTunes), The Moth & The Flame‘s Young & Unafraid (iTunes), Tweet‘s Charlene (iTunes), Willie Nelson‘s Summertime: Willie Nelson Sings Gershwin (iTunes), George Fest: A Night To Celebrate The Music Of George Harrison (iTunes)
  • More EPs out this week: The Downtown Fiction‘s Alligator Tears (iTunes), XYLØ‘s America (iTunes)

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:

  • “Animals”, Coast Modern (iTunes)
  • “Beautiful”, Jordan Smith (iTunes)
  • “Been To The Moon”, Corinne Bailey Rae (iTunes)
  • “Change My Mind”, Stone Cold Fox (iTunes)
  • “Girls Like”, Tinie Tempah featuring Zara Larsson (iTunes)
  • “Hello Friday”, Flo Rida featuring Jason Derulo (iTunes)
  • “Holla”, MAX (iTunes)
  • “In The Morning”, ZHU (iTunes)
  • “Love Me Like That”, The Knocks featuring Carly Rae Jepsen (iTunes)
  • “Rock Bottom”, Hailee Steinfeld featuring DNCE (iTunes)
  • “Someone Who Can Dance”, Icona Pop (iTunes)
  • “Time”, K. Michelle (iTunes)
  • “Vroom Vroom”, Charli XCX (iTunes)

We’ll see you next week for new releases from Day Wave, Miike Snow, The Struts and more.

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.