NEW MUSIC FRIDAY: Releases For The Week of February 5, 2016

On "Sale" this week.

On “Sale” this week.

Snow may be hitting the Northeast again overnight, but this week’s New Music Friday will keep you nice and toasty with all the hottest new jams. Here are this week’s notable albums and singles:

  • WIZ KHALIFA — Khalifa (iTunes)
    • Six months ago, Khalifa’s Blacc Hollywood entered at #1 on the Billboard 200 list, so it’s a bit of surprise to see a new set from him this soon. We’ll see if his recent Twitter fight gets him any added sales. Nothing from the album is currently at radio, but “Bake Sale”, an instant grat at the time of release, is still in the top 100 on iTunes.
  • FUTURE — EVOL (iTunes)
    • This album is a Saturday release, and though Khalifa has a one-day advantage, this will certainly be an interesting race to #1 for both rappers. The Georgia performer’s DS2 and collaboration on What A Time To Be Alive came in at #1 on the Billboard 200 last year, and his hot streak is definitely burning.
  • CHARLES KELLEY — The Driver (iTunes)
    • Kelley is at the wheel as his first solo effort travels the road to retail. The title track serves as the lead single, a top 50 hit at Country radio, and the set features several collaborations. It should be able to make the top 20 in sales.
  • More albums out this week: DIIV‘s Is The Is Are (iTunes), Drowning Pool‘s Hellelujah (iTunes), Elevation Worship‘s Here As In Heaven (iTunes), Elton John‘s Wonderful Crazy Night (iTunes), Foxes‘s All I Need (iTunes), Lucinda Williams‘s The Ghosts Of Highway 20 (iTunes), Majid Jordan‘s Majid Jordan (iTunes), Nothing But Thieves‘s Nothing But Thieves (iTunes), SWV‘s Still (iTunes), The Cult‘s Hidden City (iTunes), NOW That’s What I Call Music 57 (iTunes)
  • More EPs out this week: Tigertown‘s Lonely Cities (iTunes)

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:

  • “Don’t Let Me Down”, The Chainsmokers featuring Daya (iTunes)
  • “From The Ground Up”, Dan + Shay (iTunes)
  • “Jimmy Choo”, Fetty Wap (iTunes)
  • “Ophelia”, The Lumineers (iTunes)
  • “Make My Love Go”, Jay Sean featuring Sean Paul (iTunes)
  • “Nervous”, Gavin James (iTunes)
  • “New Year’s Eve”, (iTunes)
  • “Pause”, SafetySuit (iTunes)
  • “Prayers/Triangle”, Deftones (iTunes)
  • “Smoke”, Brian Fallon (iTunes)
  • “Something New”, Zendaya featuring Chris Brown (iTunes)
  • “The Broken”, 3 Doors Down (iTunes)
  • “Voodoo”, Allen Stone (iTunes)
  • “Whisper”, Chase Rice (iTunes)

We’ll see you next week for new releases from Kanye West, Lissie, Vince Gill and more.

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.