NEW MUSIC FRIDAY: Releases For The Week of October 16, 2015


“Cool” keeps this era burning.

This week’s New Music Friday is all about chart courage and musical morale, so pump up the pop with these sweet sets and more than two dozen other titles in the bunch. Here’s a look at the week’s top new album and single releases:

  • DEMI LOVATO — Confident (iTunes)
    • After Selena Gomez bowed at the top of the album chart, her former Disney mate is also looking for a #1 entry on the Billboard 200 with her fifth studio album. Two singles from the effort have already graced the charts: “Cool For The Summer” and the title track. Lovato usually opens well in her first frame, so expect this one to do the same.
  • PENTATONIX — Pentatonix (iTunes)
    • After years of covers and medleys, this a cappella act is out with their first album of predominantly original tunes. It also features guests like Jason Derulo and Tink, the latter of whom appears on a remix of first single “Can’t Sleep Love”. The set should register a top five debut on the album listing.
  • JAMIE LAWSON — Jamie Lawson (iTunes)
    • Lawson’s single “Wasn’t Expecting That” is a big #1 seller in the United Kingdom, and its recent status as the On The Verge song at Hot AC radio for radio giant iHeartMedia propelled into the top 20 at that format. Ed Sheeran gave him his seal of approval; will you?
  • OMI — Me 4 U (iTunes)
    • Singer Omar Paisley may like a “Cheerleader” or two, but he’s also hoping his debut set will get a rah-rah sis-boom-bah from music fans everywhere. The album also features followup single “Hula Hoop”, currently on the CHR radio chart.
  • More albums out this week: Andrew Ripp‘s Andrew Ripp (iTunes), Beach House‘s Thank Your Lucky Stars (iTunes), BØRNS‘s Dopamine (iTunes), Christine And The Queens‘s Christine And The Queens (iTunes), Coheed And Cambria‘s The Color Before The Sun (iTunes), Deerhunter‘s Fading Frontier (iTunes), Hillsong United‘s Open Heaven/River Wild (iTunes), India Arie & Joe Sample‘s Christmas With Friends (iTunes), Jenny & Tyler‘s Of This I’m Sure (iTunes), Joe Budden‘s All Love Lost (iTunes), Josh Ritter‘s Sermon On The Rocks (iTunes), Kidz Bop‘s Kidz Bop 30 (iTunes), LeAnn Rimes‘s Today Is Christmas (iTunes), Machine Gun Kelly‘s General Admission (iTunes), Majical Cloudz‘s Are You Alone? (iTunes), Neon Indian‘s VEGA INTL. Night School (iTunes), Oh Hellos‘s Dear Wormwood (iTunes), Raury‘s All We Need (iTunes), Son Little‘s Son Little (iTunes), State Champs‘s Around The World And Back (iTunes), Stoney LaRue‘s Us Time (iTunes), Stryper‘s Fallen (iTunes), The Game‘s The Documentary 2.5 (iTunes), YACHT‘s I Thought The Future Would Be Cooler (iTunes), Marvel’s Guardians Of The Galaxy: Cosmic Mix, Vol. 1 (iTunes)
  • More EPs out this week: Jake Worthington‘s Jake Worthington (iTunes), Young Rising Sons‘s The Kids Will Be Fine (iTunes)

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:

  • “C.U.R.E.”, Boots (iTunes)
  • “Perfect”, One Direction (iTunes)
  • “Prey”, The Neighbourhood (iTunes)
  • “Renegade Runaway”, Carrie Underwood (iTunes)
  • “Second Hand Heart”, Ben Haenow featuring Kelly Clarkson (iTunes)
  • “Way Back Home”, Rod Stewart (iTunes)
  • “When the Night Comes”, Jeff Lynne’s ELO (iTunes)

Next Friday, our preview will include new albums from 5 Seconds Of Summer, Carrie UnderwoodRod Stewart and a lot more. See you then!

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.