NEW MUSIC FRIDAY: Releases For The Week of October 9, 2015

Looking "Good" for the top spot.

Looking “Good” for the top spot.

This week’s New Music Friday lands some pop music punches, with two big releases on the docket that feature recent #1 tunes on the CHR radio survey. Add a little country and some rock, and you have a look at the week’s top new album and single releases:

  • SELENA GOMEZ — Revival (iTunes)
    • Out of the Disney bubble and doing things her way, 23-year-old Gomez has a hot new album in stores this week that should be on top of next week’s list. Of course, the set features “Good For You” (a three-week #1 at pop radio) and a new hit in “Same Old Love”. With a number of big names writing and producing for her, could it become her biggest era yet? Stay tuned.
  • R. CITY — What Dreams Are Made Of (iTunes)
    • Though the duo Rock City is fairly well known in the writing and production world, the two guys from Saint Thomas never had a hit as an act until this year, when “Locked Away” locked up the top spot on the pop radio chart. The men are still unknown to many listeners, so we’ll see if they become any less faceless as the singles go on.
  • JANA KRAMER — Thirty One (iTunes)
    • Kramer’s currently climbing up the Country chart with her song “I Got The Boy”, which is selling quite well given its current position outside the top 20. She’s currently pregnant with a baby girl. Look for the set to have a small entry.
  • More albums out this week: Boy & Bear‘s Limit Of Love (iTunes), City And Colour‘s If I Should Go Before You (iTunes), Jason Boland & The Stragglers‘s Squelch (iTunes), Jon McLaughlin‘s Like Us (iTunes), Mayday Parade‘s Black Lines (iTunes), Prozak‘s Black Ink (iTunes), The Game‘s The Documentary 2 (iTunes), Toby Keith‘s 35 MPH Town (iTunes)
  • More EPs out this week: Josh Thompson‘s Change: The Lost Record Vol. 1 (iTunes), No Wyld‘s Ascension (iTunes), Rozzi Crane‘s Time (iTunes), The Decemberists‘s Florasongs (iTunes)

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:

  • “Cheater”, The Vamps (iTunes)
  • “Heartbeat”, Carrie Underwood (iTunes)
  • “Hey Everybody”, 5 Seconds Of Summer (iTunes)
  • “Hold Up, Wait A Minute”, ZHU featuring Bone Thugs-n-Harmony and Trombone Shorty (iTunes)
  • “Kiss Me”, Olly Murs (iTunes)
  • “Love Me”, The 1975 (iTunes)
  • “Me, Myself & I”, G-Eazy featuring Bebe Rexha (iTunes)
  • “Over And Over Again”, Nathan Sykes (iTunes)
  • “Paint It Black”, Ciara (iTunes)
  • “Really Really”, Kevin Gates (iTunes)
  • “Something In The Way You Move”, Ellie Goulding (iTunes)

Next Friday, our preview will include new albums from Demi Lovato, Machine Gun Kelly, Pentatonix and more. See you then!

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s