NEW MUSIC FRIDAY: Releases For The Week of September 4, 2015

A Wild child.

A real Wild child.

This week’s New Music Friday is a mixed bag of rock, rap and much more for the upcoming holiday weekend. For the tunes that will keep you tapping at that barbecue or beach party, here’s a look at the week’s new album and single releases:

  • TROYE SIVAN — Wild (EP) (iTunes)
    • South African YouTube personality Sivan has over 3.5 million followers on his YouTube page. Unfortunately, only a fraction of them will be purchasing his new EP. You might remember that last year, his EP called TRYXE charted in the top five on just three days of sales. Though he’ll have a full week this time around, expect similar results.
  • FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH — Got Your Six (iTunes)
    • Currently in the top five on Active Rock radio with “Jekyll And Hyde”, these Nevada hard rockers return with their first album in nearly two years. The band’s last four releases have all cracked the top ten, and that streak should be very much alive come next week. How high will it go? Stay tuned.
  • TRAVI$ SCOTT — Rodeo (iTunes)
    • Saddle up for this one. 23-year-old rapper Scott issued mixtapes, one in 2013 and one in 2014, to positive reviews, but this release marks his debut album. Single “Antidote” is just under the top 40 on the Urban chart, but it should rise on the official update on Sunday night.
  • THE ARCS — Yours, Dreamily, (iTunes)
    • If you’re a fan of Dan Auerbach, then you likely know about this new side project of his. The single from it is “Outta My Mind”, a current top 20 hit on Alternative radio. Look for it to have a solid entry, with strong support from the fans of The Black Keys.
  • More albums out this week: Against Me!‘s 23 Live Sex Acts (iTunes), Family Of The Year‘s Family Of The Year (iTunes), FIDLAR‘s Too (iTunes), Iron Maiden‘s The Book Of Souls (iTunes), K CAMP‘s Only Way Is Up (iTunes), Lizz Wright‘s Freedom & Surrender (iTunes), Oh Wonder‘s Oh Wonder (iTunes), Scarface‘s Deeply Rooted (iTunes), The Wonder Years‘s No Closer To Heaven (iTunes), Thunderbitch‘s Thunderbitch (iTunes)
  • More EPs out this week: Daya‘s Daya (iTunes), Finish Ticket‘s When Night Becomes Day (iTunes), Fleurie‘s Arrows (iTunes), Jon Foreman‘s The Wonderlands: Darkness (iTunes), Rivers & Rust‘s Rivers & Rust (iTunes)

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:

  • “Ain’t About The Money”, Cast Of Empire (iTunes)
  • “Burn Slow”, Wiz Khalifa featuring Rae Sremmurd (iTunes)
  • “Can’t Sleep Love”, Pentatonix (iTunes)
  • “Crazy Over Me”, Dylan Scott (iTunes)
  • “Do It Right”, Austin Mahone (SoundCloud – free download)
  • “Head Over Boots”, Jon Pardi (iTunes)
  • “Hide & Freak”, SoMo featuring Trey Songz (iTunes)
  • “Jaded”, Disclosure (iTunes)
  • “Love Song To The Earth”, Various Artists (iTunes)
  • “No Doubt About It”, Cast Of Empire featuring Pitbull (iTunes)
  • “Power”, Leona Lewis (iTunes)
  • “Robbed Blind”, Keith Richards (iTunes)
  • “Spark”, PHASES (iTunes)
  • “Star”, Gary Clark Jr. (iTunes)
  • “T-Shirt”, Thomas Rhett (iTunes)
  • “Unbreakable”, Janet Jackson (iTunes)
  • “Wanna Be That Song”, Brett Eldredge (iTunes)
  • “Wishing Well”, The Moth & The Flame (iTunes)
  • “Withdrawal”, Max Frost (iTunes)
  • “Wonderful”, Casey Veggies featuring Ty Dolla $ign (iTunes)

Next Friday, our preview will include new albums from Brett Eldredge, Bring Me The HorizonLeona Lewis and more. See you then!

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.