NEW MUSIC FRIDAY: Releases For The Week of August 14, 2015

Time to "Party".

Time to “Party”.

This week’s New Music Friday might make you cry, but it will hopefully leave your ears content with some fresh sounds for the weekend, including several sets from new and emerging acts. Here’s a look at the week’s new album and single releases:

  • MELANIE MARTINEZ — Cry Baby (iTunes)
    • Former The Voice contestant Martinez is out with her first studio album this week, which features a couple of cuts from her 2014 EP titled Dollhouse. Though the title track from that release went to radio and could not gain much traction, “Pity Party” will be heading to the CHR format next month. Look for a nice debut next week.
  • VARIOUS ARTISTS — Wondaland Presents: The Eephus (iTunes)
    • Featuring the radio singles “Classic Man” by Jidenna, a former #1 on the Rhythmic radio chart, and “Yoga” by he and Janelle Monáe, this EP marks a solid introduction to Wondaland Records, created and led by Monáe. Given added SEA and TEA sales, it should see a medium-sized debut.
  • NEW POLITICS — Vikings (iTunes)
    • After a label swap from RCA to Warner Bros. last year, this trio from Copenhagen has managed to place two songs on the Alternative chart, though neither one could make the top ten like 2013’s “Harlem”. Still, this set should give them a ride into the top 100 on the Billboard 200.
  • More albums out this week: Aer‘s One Of A Kind (iTunes), B.o.B‘s Psycadelik Thoughtz (iTunes), Bullet For My Valentine‘s Venom (iTunes), Chinx‘s Welcome To JFK (iTunes), Dillon Francis‘s This Mixtape Is Fire (iTunes), Emily West‘s All For You (iTunes), Grace Potter‘s Midnight (iTunes), Neck Deep‘s Life’s Not Out To Get You (iTunes), Rayland Baxter‘s Imaginary Man (iTunes), Soundtrack to True Detective (Music from the HBO Series) (iTunes)
  • More EPs out this week: FKA twigs‘s M3LL155X (iTunes), Tyler Rich‘s Valerie (iTunes)

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:

  • “Bitter Pill”, new from Gavin James. (iTunes)
  • “Black Cadillac”, an instant grat track from Shinedown. (iTunes)
  • “Honey I’m Home”, new from Francesco Yates. (iTunes)
  • “I’m In Love With A Monster”, new from Fifth Harmony. (iTunes)
  • “Live Forever”, new from The Band Perry. (iTunes)
  • “Walk The Wire”, a new single from Boy & Bear. (iTunes)
  • “You Kill Me With Silence”, an album cut from Duran Duran. (iTunes)
  • “Your Type”, an album cut from Carly Rae Jepsen. (iTunes)

Next Friday, our preview will include new albums from Bon Jovi, Carly Rae Jepsen and Rob Thomas. See you then!

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.