Adam’s Top 100 of 2014: #01 – Christina Perri, “Human”

The cream of the pop!

The cream of the pop for 2014.

Another year is in the books and it’s time for the annual listing of the 100 biggest songs that ranked among my weekly top 40 chart from December 2013 to November 2014. It was magical year full of MAGIC! and “Magic” and a lovely twelve months of lovable hits from James Blunt and The Fray. We went “home” with A Great Big World and Andy Grammer, spun around in a “dance” with Milky Chance and Walk The Moon and ended up here with all that was awesome in the year we called 2014.

Peak positions listed are as of the last chart included in the year dated November 30, 2014. Those entries marked with a plus sign (+) had not yet reached their peak position as of the date. Ties in points were broken based on peak, number of weeks at peak and number of weeks in the top 40.

It was a Perri good year indeed.

It was a Perri good year indeed.

001. CHRISTINA PERRI, “Human” (911 points)
Writers: Christina Perri, Martin Johnson / Producer: Johnson
Label: Atlantic

Debut Date: November 24, 2013
Peak Date: January 19 to February 23, 2014
Peak: #1 for six weeks
Weeks on Chart: 36 (35 in 2014 Chart Year)

It was November 15 of last year in the late afternoon. I was loading some music files at the office when I noticed a tweet from SiriusXM’s The Pulse stating that this song was about to premiere. At that point, I was caught off-guard because the song was supposed to premiere and go on sale on Monday, and so I ran down to my car to see if I could hear it. Unfortunately, it ended before I was able to turn the dial. I knew I needed to find the song before it was officially out on the internet.

Two days later, that opportunity came when I was driving on the other side of the city I live in and, what do you know, on the air comes “Human” in all its glory. I remember feverishly trying to record it on my iPhone so that I could play it until it could be purchased the next day. It was beautiful. There was such an honesty to the lyric about the vulnerabilities of life and trying to fit a role that sometimes isn’t meant to be. It’s the insatiable thirst for perfection, yet the realization that flaws are a part of what make us who we are. Deep stuff, but I fell right into it, and I enjoyed the fall. I like songs that make you think. There are a few others like that on her gorgeous second album, Head Or Heart. Jake Gosling and Jamie Scott, among others, did a great job in the process as well.

“Human” officially entered the top 40 during the week of November 24 of last year at #38. During that period, Perri’s record was in direct competition with another solo female’s leadoff single, “Hold On” by Colbie Caillat. As we would later conclude in the spring, holding onto the chart wasn’t Caillat’s strong suit and the song created such little buzz that it fell off and couldn’t even land a spot on her album, Gypsy Heart. Meanwhile, Perri’s slow burner of a single made its way to the top 40 on the Hot 100 and earned a Platinum certification. On my chart, it held the #1 spot for six weeks in January and February, then took its time going down the top 40 to the tune of 36 weeks on, the longest overall run of the year. I’m very excited to crown it as my top song of 2014.

Perri is currently climbing my personal chart with the third single from her album, another ballad called “The Words”. A clip for the single should premiere in the new year. (She’s been teasing pictures with actor Colin O’Donoghue, who appears to play a role in it.) We’ll see where it shows up on 2015’s Top 100 survey. Until then, it’s a big congrats on this impressive feat. Well done, Christina, and happy holidays.

Well, that’s going to do it for the Top 100 of 2014. Thanks to everyone who has supported my blog in the past twelve months and for the two years that it’s been online. This has been an amazing year for me personally and, most importantly, proved to me that you never know who is actually looking out for you. I can’t wait to see what happens in 2015. I hope you’re ready. All my best to you and yours.

Leave a comment

Filed under Adam's Top 100 of 2014

Leave a Reply

