TURN IT UP TUESDAY: What’s New In Stores This Week (October 14)

They've got friends in bro places.

They’ve got friends in bro places.

The autumn leaves are dropping, just like those big releases that Q4 is all about. Get ready, partners, because here’s what albums and singles are in stores for the week of October 14:

  • Their last album was full of hits like “Cruise”, “Stay” and “This Is How We Roll”, to name just a few. Now, the duo of Tyler Hubbard and Brian Kelley, better known as Florida Georgia Line, are back on the scene (though I suppose they never left) with Anything Goes, featuring a recent #1 on the Country chart, “Dirt”. Their last album is at about two million copies sold to date, so expect this one to head to the top (and Platinum status) real quickly. (iTunes)
  • Millions of music fans came out to download the new U2 album, Songs Of Innocence, when it was offered for free in an iTunes giveaway, although millions more wanted to get rid of it altogether. Granted, it was not the same as Oprah Winfrey telling you that you got a new car, but not much can match that. Nonetheless, a physical edition is in stores today with some added tunes and art that weren’t previously available. (iTunes)
  • Some would call her a Sweet Talker, but that also happens to be the name of the latest album from Jessie J. It’s her second album to be released here after a U.S. release of Alive (out last year in Europe) was shelved. (The only single to be issued from it was “Wild”, but it was later pulled.) Smashing with “Bang Bang”, featuring Ariana Grande and Nicki Minaj, this one also looks like a hit. (iTunes)
  • New York rapper Hoodie Allen has been hitting the Billboard 200 for a few years now with a series of EPs despite little recognition on any singles survey. This week, he’s out with his first full-length album, People Keep Talking. It features a collaboration with Ed Sheeran. Will it crash the top ten? It may very well happen. (iTunes)
  • You’ve probably seen their song “Stolen Dance” at #1 on the Alternative chart after some big international success. Now, German duo Milky Chance unleash their album Sadnecessary in the States as “Dance” crosses over. I think they’ll find that their first week sales are gut, as they might say. (iTunes)
  • Singers Pink (Alecia Moore) and City And Colour (Dallas Green) combine to form the duo You+Me and release their first set together, rose ave., featuring the single “You And Me”. Strong pre-orders should land it in the top five digitally and near the top ten on the Billboard 200. (iTunes)
  • Other releases out this week include: Andrew McMahon In The Wilderness‘s Andrew McMahon In The Wilderness (iTunes), Angaleena Presley‘s American Middle Class (iTunes), Bob Seger‘s Ride Out (iTunes), Exodus‘s Blood In Blood Out (iTunes), Fit For A King‘s Slave To Nothing (iTunes), Idina Menzel‘s Holiday Wishes (iTunes), Mary Lambert‘s Heart On My Sleeve (iTunes), Michael Feinstein‘s Christmas (iTunes), Nico & Vinz‘s Black Star Elephant (iTunes), Oh Honey‘s Sincerely Yours (EP) (iTunes), OK Go‘s Hungry Ghosts (iTunes), Ozzy Osbourne‘s Memoirs Of A Madman (iTunes), Renée Fleming‘s Christmas In New York (iTunes), Sammy Hagar‘s Lite Roast (iTunes), Stars‘s No One Is Lost (iTunes), The Dubarrys‘s The Dubarrys (EP) (iTunes), The Game‘s Blood Moon: Year Of The Wolf (iTunes) and The Swon Brothers‘s The Swon Brothers (iTunes).

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week (and there’s a whole lot of them) include:

  • “Drunk Americans”, the new single from Country singer Toby Keith. (iTunes)
  • “Need You Right Now”, from YouTube star Bethany Mota and Mike Tompkins. (iTunes)
  • “Not For Long”, a new single from rapper B.o.B and singer Trey Songz. (iTunes)
  • “Out Of The Woods”, a digital single from Taylor Swift. (iTunes)
  • “XIX”, a digital single from rockers Slipknot. (iTunes)

It’s another mixed bag on the schedule next time, with Aretha Franklin, Little Big Town, Neil Diamond, Slipknot and Susan Boyle among the week’s top contenders. A full preview is coming in seven!

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews, Music News

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.