TURN IT UP TUESDAY: What’s New In Stores This Week (July 29)

The waiting is the hardest chart.

The waiting is the hardest chart.

Break out your best guitar because it’s all about rock music this week, from the enduring classics to the newcomers. (Maybe there’s a hint of pop too.) Here’s what albums and singles are in stores for the week of July 29:

  • With their first album since 2010’s Mojo, the legendary rockers Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers are back with a new album titled Hypnotic Eye. Single “U Get Me High” is currently rising up the top five on the AAA chart. Given that their last effort debuted at #2 on the Billboard 200, I would venture that this one has a chance at #1 given the current pace of sales. We shall see. (iTunes)
  • Singer Shawn Mendes isn’t old enough to drink or even drive a car, but the 15-year-old sure is going places with the release of his self-titled EP. The lead single from it, “Life Of The Party”, goes to CHR radio this week. The numbers are going to be front-loaded, but this should easily debut in the top ten next week. Will it break the top five? Stay tuned. (iTunes)
  • Rocking out and into record stores this week are new sets from Adelitas Way, Stuck (iTunes), and Theory Of A Deadman, Savages (iTunes). “Dog On A Leash” from the former effort and “Drown” from the latter recently went top ten on the Active Rock survey. Both should at least enter within the top 20.
  • Other releases out this week include: Eric Clapton and Friends‘s The Breeze: An Appreciation of JJ Cale (iTunes), Jenny Lewis‘s The Voyager (iTunes), Marc Broussard‘s A Life Worth Living (iTunes) and the soundtracks from Get On Up: The James Brown Story (iTunes) and Guardians Of The Galaxy (iTunes).

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:

  • “Anything Goes”, from the delayed Cheek To Cheek album by Lady Gaga and Tony Bennett. (iTunes)
  • “Bang Bang”, a collaboration from Jessie J, Ariana Grande and Nicki Minaj. (iTunes)
  • “Chasing The Sun”, a new single from former Disney star Hilary Duff. (iTunes)
  • “It Was Always You”, a pre-order track from Maroon 5. (iTunes)
  • “POP 101”, new from the Canadian group Marianas Trench. (iTunes)
  • “Stay Vicious”, a digital release from The Gaslight Anthem. (iTunes)
  • “Trailer Hitch”, a solo single from Sugarland‘s male half, Kristian Bush. (iTunes)
  • “You Got Me”, a soundtrack single from singer/songwriter Gavin DeGraw. (iTunes)
  • “You Haunt Me”, new from rock trio Sir Sly. (iTunes)

Next week, heavy rockers Godsmack challenge singer/songwriter Andy Grammer and U.K. boy band The Vamps. Yet, will all three fall to the power of a new NOW That’s What I Call Music! collection? A preview is coming in seven!

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews, Music News

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.