TURN IT UP TUESDAY: What’s New In Stores This Week (April 22)

Footloose and "Fancy" free.

Footloose and “Fancy” free.

The Easter Bunny may be too late in delivering these musical delights, but they’re still worth a hop over to the record store (or digital store) to check out everything. Here’s what albums and singles are in stores for the week of April 22:

  • Burning up the charts with her collaboration with Charli XCX, “Fancy”, Australian rapper Iggy Azalea makes her debut with the long-awaited The New Classic. With a big fan base behind her, this should post some pretty solid numbers during its first week given its international performance thus far. Look for it to be in the top 5, if not higher. (iTunes)
  • With his second album and first since 2012, rapper Future is back with Honest. Two singles from the project are currently charting at Urban radio: “Move That Doh”, a top ten record with Pharrell Williams, and “I Won”, a recent top 50 entry featuring Kanye West. This should also be an easy top 5 album on the Billboard 200. (iTunes)
  • Utah electro-rockers Neon Trees are ready to school us all in Pop Psychology, their third studio album. It features the hit “Sleeping With A Friend”, which is currently top 40 at Alternative, CHR and Hot AC radio. It will very likely be their highest debuting album yet, although lack of placement in the weekend ads and limited sale pricing could hurt it. Still, a top ten debut remains in the cards. (iTunes) (Read my review of Pop Psychology)
  • I also wrote quite a bit about the second album from duo Graffiti6, out with The Bridge. It’s an independent release, so it’s not going to get a ton of coverage, but it’s definitely worth a few listens. Jamie Scott and Tommy Danvers knocked it out of the park once again with a solid set of pop, rock and R&B-influenced songs. (iTunes) (Read my review of The Bridge)
  • Flying into movie theaters next week, the soundtrack from The Amazing Spider-Man 2 gets caught in the web of new releases this week. “It’s On Again” by Alicia Keys and Kendrick Lamar is the lead radio cut from it. (iTunes)
  • Other releases out this week include: Augustana‘s Life Imitating Life (iTunes), Bethel Music‘s You Make Me Brave (Live) (iTunes), Bruce Springsteen‘s American Beauty (EP) (iTunes), Francesca Battistelli‘s If We’re Honest (iTunes), G. Love and Special Sauce‘s Sugar (iTunes), Keb Mo‘s Bluesamericana (iTunes), Kelis‘s FOOD (iTunes), Little Feat‘s Live In Holland 1976 (iTunes), Sebastian Bach‘s Give ‘Em Hell (iTunes) and the Disney remixed compilation album Dconsctructed (iTunes).

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:

  • “Fly”, a promotional track by former American Idol winner Phillip Phillips. (iTunes)
  • “High Ball Stepper” and “Lazaretto”, two songs from the forthcoming album by Jack White. (iTunes)
  • “Midnight”, a promotional digital single from Coldplay. (iTunes)
  • “Shatter Me”, a collaboration between Lindsey Stirling and Lzzy Hale of Halestorm. (iTunes)
  • “You Think You Know Somebody”, a digital track from Country singer Hunter Hayes. (iTunes)

Next week, singer/songwriter Ray LaMontagne and rap/pop duo Timeflies are among the schedule’s top new releases. A full preview is coming in seven!

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews, Music News

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.