TURN IT UP TUESDAY: What’s New In Stores This Week (March 11)

They're in the Money.

They’re in the Money.

Money doesn’t grow on trees, but you sure are going to need some with all the new albums and singles bouncing into stores today. Here’s what you need to know about on the schedule for the week of March 11:

  • In late 2009, the crew from Young Money Entertainment released a compilation album called We Are Young Money, which features various rappers and singers from the group on hits like “Bedrock” and “Every Girl”. This week, their second release of solely acts from that label is in stores, subtitled Rise Of An Empire. Two singles from the effort are currently charting at Urban radio. Look for it to debut in the top ten. (iTunes)
  • Why not cater to the college crowd at this time of year? Luke Bryan‘s latest Spring Break EP is his sixth, subtitled …Like We Ain’t Ever. Given how hot the guy’s been lately, this could make its way into the top spot. Crack open a few cold cans: it’s time for some finger lickin’ fun. (iTunes)
  • If you’re a fan of Avicii‘s “Wake Me Up!”, then you already know singer Aloe Blacc and his new hit, “The Man”. Released in a handful of European territories last fall to mixed results, Lift Your Spirit is the singer’s third album and “Man” is the leadoff release from it. However, it may not lift up the charts that easily. (iTunes)
  • Country superstar Sara Evans is back with her seventh studio album, Slow Me Down; the title track is currently at Country radio and climbing through the top 30. Her opening numbers won’t be as big as her last album, Stronger, but they should solidly put her in the top 10 or 15. (iTunes)
  • After partnering with ATO Records on their last release, Alternative rockers 311 go totally independent on their new album, titled Stereolithic. “Five Of Everything” is the lead release from it, which recently entered the top 50 at the format. (iTunes)
  • Looking for a little Latin flavor this week? A new album from Juanes reaches stores this week, the muy bueno Loco De Amor. It should do better in the U.S. than his last album, P.A.R.C.E., which barely charted during the Christmas season in 2010. (iTunes)
  • Currently charting at the Urban AC format with “I Blame You”, R&B singer Ledisi is out with her latest, The Truth. It’s her first album in nearly three years. (iTunes)
  • Other releases out this week include: Capital Cities‘s In A Tidal Wave Of Mystery (Deluxe Edition) (iTunes), Cowboy Troy‘s King Of Clubs (iTunes), Don Williams‘s Reflections (iTunes), Elbow‘s The Take Off And Landing Of Everything (iTunes), KXM‘s KXM (iTunes), Ozomatli‘s Place In The Sun (iTunes) and Tensnake‘s Glow (iTunes).

New digital-only EPs and singles that you can buy this week include:

  • “Burning Gold”, a new single from Christina Perri from her new album, Head Or Heart. (iTunes)
  • “Guilty All The Same”, a collaboration from Linkin Park and Rakim. (iTunes)
  • “Higher”, new from Canadian rapper Classified featuring American rapper B.o.B. (iTunes)
  • “You’re My Star”, a first single from R&B singer Tank‘s forthcoming album. (iTunes)

Next week, Foster The People has the most anticipated release with their sophomore album Supermodel, plus the latest from Enrique Iglesias also hits stores. A full preview is coming in seven!

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews, Music News

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s