TURN IT UP TUESDAY: What’s New In Stores This Week (January 14)

Hoping for a #1.

Hoping for a #1.

From a Jersey boy to a Country boy, and from pop queens to Dap-Kings, we’ve got a little bit of everything on the menu this week. Here are all the releases you need to know about for January 14:

  • The Boss is back to take his place at the top of the charts. With his first album since 2012, Bruce Springsteen returns with High Hopes, a collection of remakes, outtakes and re-recorded versions of songs from prior efforts. It’s a first for him, but one that should prove to be popular with his core fans. Look for it to debut at #1 or very close to it. (iTunes)
  • California rockers Switchfoot are Fading West on their latest album, featuring the Alternative single “Who We Are” and Christian radio hit “Love Alone Is Worth The Fight”. Much like their last album, 2011’s Vice Verses, a top ten debut on the Billboard 200 seems likely. (iTunes)
  • She sure is a trooper. Diagnosed with cancer last year and now returning to her musical group, the soulful sounds of Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings are back with Give The People What They Want, their latest for Daptone Records. (iTunes)
  • On the Country circuit this week, check out Jennifer Nettles‘s first solo album apart from Sugarland, That Girl (iTunes), and newcomer Jon Pardi hits the scene with Write You A Song. (iTunes) Both artists are currently on the Country chart with their respective singles; title track “That Girl” for Nettles and “Up All Night” for Pardi. (For some classic Country, you’ll want a listen to Mary Chapin Carpenter‘s Songs From The Movies (iTunes) and Rosanne Cash‘s River And The Thread. (iTunes))
  • Other albums out this week include the U.S. release of Bastille‘s All This Bad Blood (iTunes), James Vincent McMorrow‘s Post Tropical (iTunes), Kidz Bop Kids‘s Volume 25 (iTunes), Mindless Self Indulgence‘s F–k Machine (iTunes), Ryan Star‘s A N G E L S + A N I MA L S (iTunes) and The Crystal Method‘s The Crystal Method. (iTunes)

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:

  • “Can’t Remember To Forget You”, a hot duet for Shakira and Rihanna. (iTunes)
  • “Coming Of Age”, new from California rockers Foster The People. (iTunes)
  • “Give Me Back My Hometown”, the latest single from Country singer Eric Church. (iTunes)
  • Hits Like A Hurricane (EP), a five-song effort of the singles and more from Chris Wallace. (iTunes)
  • “I’m A Freak”, a new track by Enrique Iglesias featuring Pitbull. (iTunes)
  • “Rewind”, already racing up the Country charts for Rascal Flatts. (iTunes)
  • “The Heart”, a new single from Southern rockers needtobreathe. (iTunes)

Next week, A Great Big World tries to take over the world with their debut album. Will they make it to #1? A preview is coming in seven.

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews, Music News

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.