One Year Later And Still Popping!

POP! goes the anniversary.

POP! goes the anniversary.

I didn’t think I was going to get to this point, but it’s finally here and I’m so excited. It’s been a great first year of writing here on WordPress with my music blog, POP! Goes The Charts, and I can’t thank you all enough for supporting me in this adventure. November 28, 2012 seems so far away at this point, even if it was just 365 days ago. Of course, I’ve made it through the ups and downs, the struggle for post inspiration, the “take it down” private messages, etc. but that wild ride continues to be one I enjoy driving through. So, here are just a few of the statistics that made this a great first full year:

In the past twelve months, my blog has racked up north of 240,000 views on a total of 440 posts for an average of 550 views a day and 1.2 posts, which sounds about right. (Maybe not the 1/5 of a post part, but I digress.) A lot of these have been focused on the home page or in the archives — 52,000 of them, in fact, which equates to about 21%.

The biggest direct click post of the year was my Friday Forty countdown of the Top 40 Boy Bands based on radio data archives, which has been viewed just under 9,300 times since its late February debut. Whether you were Team *NSYNC, Backstreet Boys or New Kids On The Block back in the day, we all love our boy bands once again thanks to new kids in town like One Direction and The Wanted and all of those reunions, of course. Keep calm and stan on, you all.

The largest sum for a single premiere is on “Ways To Go” by Grouplove, which has accumulated 7,500 views since June. “Ways” went to #5 on my personal chart a few months ago and peaked at #2 on Alternative radio. Look for it to rank highly on my year-end survey, which will be starting in a few weeks. In other words, you’ve “got a little bit longer” to wait.

My most successful album review was for Avril Lavigne‘s self-titled album of a few weeks ago, racking up 1,600 views. Reaction for the effort was mixed, although it did debut in the top ten on the Billboard 200. The third single from it, a duet with husband Chad Kroeger titled “Let Me Go”, is currently gaining at Hot Adult Contemporary radio.

As for Profile posts, where I go on a bit about new and breaking acts, Danny Mercer takes the prize for that, with 950 views on my post from the end of May. At the time, Mercer was riding the charts on a collaboration with rapper Pitbull called “Outta Nowhere”. Unfortunately, it tanked, but look out for some solo material from him coming on Columbia Records next year. He also co-produced “Save Your Soul” on Celine Dion‘s most recent album, Loved Me Back To Life.

Finally, there’s my top chart post of the year. Every week, I make a weekly top 40 music survey, and for some reason, the chart dated February 24 is the most viewed one of the past 12 months with 176 views. The #1 song of the week for the second frame was “Mermaid” by Train, which you’ll also find has done particularly well on my 2013 year-end chart. Once the tide comes in, you’ll see where it’s washed up.

Thanks for a great year once again and here’s to another fantastic one!

Best wishes and Happy Thanksgivukkah,
Adam

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

