TURN IT UP MONDAY: What’s New In Stores This Week (November 25)

Read up on this "Story".

The time is now for Midnight.

Turn it up… Monday? For the last of three times this holiday season, it’s a manic Monday in the music industry as most new releases hit the shelves just in time for some turkey talk. (NOTE: some releases may still not be out until Tuesday dependent on record label availability/iTunes response time.) Here’s what you need to know about on the schedule for the week of November 25:

  • They’ve been taking over iTunes all week with digital singles like “Diana” and “Strong” from their last album; now, One Direction is finally in stores with their third full-length release, Midnight Memories. The current radio single from it is the ballad “Story Of My Life”. Get ready for a massive sales week ahead for it. It will almost certainly eclipse the 500,000 mark here, and the ceiling is anyone’s guess (iTunes).
  • Last season on The Voice, young Country singer Danielle Bradbery won the competition for Blake Shelton‘s team. This week, her self-titled debut album is out, featuring the recent Country radio hit “The Heart Of Dixie” (iTunes).
  • Mr. 305 turned Mr. Worldwide, the rapper known as Pitbull, is warming things up for the holidays with the Meltdown edition of his 2012 release, Global Warming. You’ve probably heard new single “Timber”, a collaboration with Ke$ha, all over the radio. It’s available in both a deluxe edition (iTunes) and a stand-alone EP of just the new material (iTunes).
  • Recorded live last year at the Barclays Center, the legendary Barbra Streisand is out with Back To Brooklyn, featuring all the hits and then some. A physical edition includes an added DVD. (iTunes)
  • Is it an odd collaboration? Yes. Does it work? Surprisingly enough, yes. Green Day frontman Billie Joe Armstrong and jazz singer Norah Jones team up for Foreverly, a collection of the Everly Brothers covers (iTunes).
  • Other albums in stores this week include Bill Cosby‘s Far From Finished (iTunes), Dido‘s Greatest Hits (iTunes), Florida Georgia Line‘s Here’s To The Good Times – This Is How We Roll edition (iTunes) and the soundtrack to the film Tyler Perry’s A Madea Christmas (iTunes).

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:

  • “Cried”, the first radio single from American Idol winner Candice Glover‘s forthcoming album, Music Speaks. (iTunes)
  • “Rollercoaster”, the latest Music Mondays release from Justin Bieber. (iTunes)

Next week, Britney Spears gets to “work bitch” as Britney Jean hits stores, but how will she fare against Jake Owen and the Carrie Underwood-led The Sound Of Music soundtrack? A preview is coming next Tuesday!

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews, Music News

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.