TURN IT UP MONDAY: What’s New In Stores This Week (September 30)

He's a Soul survivor.

20/20 on 9/30.

Turn it up… Monday? It’s true! Thanks to one superstar release this week, many albums and singles are out early. (NOTE: some releases may still not be out until Tuesday dependent on record label availability/iTunes response time.) Here’s what you need to know about musically for the week of September 30:

  • We’ve been waiting for this one for months now. It’s the second half of Justin Timberlake‘s soulful strut through the musical landscape, The 20/20 Experience, 2 of 2. The album will no doubt debut at #1 on next week’s album chart, albeit with a lesser total than the first part of the series. Still, it’s Justin Timberlake. You know it will smash and smash hard. (iTunes)
  • Newcomer Lorde is trading in her gold teeth and Grey Goose for some big potential album sales this week with Pure Heroine, her debut album. It features the international hit “Royals” as well as new single “Team”. Look for it to be a strong #2 next week. (iTunes)
  • Country singer Tyler Farr, who is driving radio “Redneck Crazy” with his current top 3 single, is out with his Redneck Crazy album. It will likely pull in some decent numbers, perhaps enough to go top ten. (iTunes)
  • He cruised up the Hot 100 with his boys Florida-Georgia Line earlier this summer; now, Nelly has his newest studio album released this week, M.O., with single “Get Like Me” (featuring Nicki Minaj and Pharrell) at Urban radio.  (iTunes)
  • Other albums out this week include HAIM‘s Days Are Gone (iTunes), Joan Jett and the Heartbreakers‘s Unvarnished (iTunes), K-Ci and JoJo‘s My Brother’s Keeper (iTunes), Moby‘s Innocents (iTunes) and Randy Travis‘s Influence, Vol. 1: The Man I Am (iTunes).

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:

  • “Army Of 3 (EP)”, a new release from singer-songwriter Ingrid Michaelson. (iTunes)
  • “I’ll Wait For You”, from “A Thousand Miles” hit maker Vanessa Carlton. (iTunes)
  • “Love, Sex, Death”, new from indie rockers Fall Out Boy. (iTunes)
  • “Walking On Air”, another digital single from Katy Perry‘s latest album PRISM. (iTunes)

Next week, Miley Cyrus looks to twerk to the top with Bangerz, while Cassadee Pope and Panic! At The Disco also take flight with their new releases. Who will make it and where? Find out soon — a preview is coming on Tuesday, the 8th!

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews, Music News

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.