TURN IT UP TUESDAY: What’s New In Stores This Week (September 10)

It's "Electric"!

It’s “Electric”!

September’s picking up speed with quite a few big releases this week – here are all the ones you need to know about for this Tuesday, September 10:

  • This may not be the top-selling album of the week, but it’s certainly got the buzz to carry it up the chart. The Electric Lady is the second full-length album and third overall release for futuristic soul singer Janelle Monáe, which features a few singles including “Q.U.E.E.N.” with Erykah Badu and a recent collaboration with Miguel, “PrimeTime”. There may be GRAMMY potential for this one and it will almost certainly be the biggest album commercially of her career thus far. (iTunes)
  • Next in line is Country singer and American Idol judge Keith Urban, who lights a Fuse on this week’s schedule with his latest album. The leadoff single “Little Bit Of Everything” recently topped the Country chart and there may be some crossover potential with his latest material. (iTunes)
  • Rapper 2 Chainz (don’t yell it out, please) has a second album to add to his chain of releases, B.O.A.T.S. II: Me Time. His last album debuted at #1 and this one will likely enter in the top 5 as well. (iTunes)
  • With her first all-Country album, singer/songwriter Sheryl Crow strums along with Feels Like Home, featuring the recent hit “Easy”. It should enough support to debut in the top 10. (iTunes)
  • She taught us how to “Conga” and now Gloria Estefan is taking us back to the days of the The Great American Songbook. The Standards is her first English album since 2011 and is an all-covers release, including songs like “Smile” and “What A Wonderful World”. (iTunes)
  • Rockers Arctic Monkeys return with a new album, AM, featuring the singles “R U Mine?”, “Do I Wanna Know?” and “Why’d You Only Call Me When You’re High?” (and no, not every song title is in the form of a question.) (iTunes)
  • Canadian producer and performer The Weeknd released a compilation album called Trilogy last year; he now issues his first full studio album, Kiss Land, featuring a collaboration with rapper Drake. (iTunes)
  • They’re a legendary soul and R&B band and they just keep going. Out with their 20th studio album since 1971, Earth, Wind & Fire promise to be around Now, Then & Forever. (iTunes)
  • Other albums out this week include Bowling For Soup‘s Lunch. Drunk. Love. (iTunes), BOY‘s Mutual Friends – Acoustic EP (iTunes), Goldfrapp‘s Tales Of Us (iTunes), London Grammar‘s If You Wait (iTunes) and Trombone Shorty‘s Say That To Say This (iTunes).

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:

  • “Good Times”, another digital single from The Voice winner Cassadee Pope. (iTunes)
  • “Let’s Go There”, a hot Country single from new duo The Brothers Osborne. (iTunes)
  • “My Kind Of Love”, the new U.S. single from Emeli Sandé as remixed by RedOne and Alex P. (iTunes)
  • “Rough Water”, a new collaboration from Travie McCoy and Jason Mraz. (iTunes)
  • “Stay The Night”, a dance track from DJ Zedd and rocker Hayley Williams of Paramore. (iTunes)

There’s a huge week brewing next week with albums from acts like Avicii, Grouplove, Jack Johnson and much more. Who grabs hold of the top spot? Find out as we preview the week next Tuesday!

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Reviews, Music News

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.