TURN IT UP TUESDAY: What’s New In Stores This Week (Mar. 5)

Reign is a good thing.

Reign is a good thing.

Take a break and head for Spring Break with these new releases for the week of March 5:

  • Every year since 2009, Country singer Luke Bryan has been putting out an EP every spring season as high schoolers and college-age kids go off to Spring Break. This full-length release, Spring Break… Here To Party, is a compilation of the four EPs plus a few additional new tracks. It’ll likely debut pretty high on the album chart, perhaps even #1 considering that sales are pretty low right now. (iTunes)
  • Long gone but certainly not forgotten, a new album full of lost tracks from Jimi Hendrix‘s later recordings, People, Hell and Angels, is released this week. This comes on the same week that two Jimi Hendrix Experience albums, Are You Experienced? and Axis: Bold As Love, are rereleased on vinyl. (iTunes)
  • Jazz and soul legend Boz Scaggs releases MEMPHIS today, his first album in five years. Scaggs, of course, is best known for hits like “Lido Shuffle” and “Lowdown”. (iTunes)
  • Former X Factor contestant Marcus Canty puts out an EP today, This… Is Marcus Canty. Current single “Used By You” is a minor hit on Urban radio. (iTunes)
  • The third compilation from Disney Channel’s television program Shake It Up, a 12-track effort called I ❤ Dance, is out in stores. It features songs from several characters on the show, as well as Disney artists like Bridgit Mendler and Selena Gomez. (iTunes)
  • Country singer Ashley Monroe releases her second album today, Like A Rose. The title track was released to Country radio, and she is also featured on the band Train‘s current Country release, “Bruises”, which is slowly climbing into the top 50. (iTunes)
  • Alternative and Country band Son Volt are back with Honky Tonk, their first album in four years. Their last one, American Central Dust, just missed the top 40 on the album chart. (iTunes)
  • Swedish metal band Soilwork releases The Living Infinite, the band’s first album since 2010. (iTunes)
  • How To Destroy Angels partners Trent Reznor (of Nine Inch Nails) and Atticus Ross, who scored the movie The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, in a new quintet that releases their first full-length album, Welcome oblivion. (iTunes)
  • Singer-songwriter and Americana act Josh Ritter is out today with The Beast In Its Tracks, his seventh studio album. (iTunes)
  • Finally, those happenin’ hipsters in the world of jazz will be enjoying Madeleine Peyroux‘s first album in two years, The Blue Room. (iTunes)

New digital-only singles that you can buy this week include:

  • “Your Touch”, the return single from former American Idol contestant Blake Lewis. It’s being featured in advertisement for Internet Explorer. (AmazonMP3)

We’ll be back next week with new albums by some huge names all competing on one week. Bon Jovi. David Bowie. Eric Clapton. Who will come out on top? See you in seven with more details.

1 Comment

Filed under Album Reviews, Music News

One response to “TURN IT UP TUESDAY: What’s New In Stores This Week (Mar. 5)

  1. I’m not having the warm fuzzy feeling about Bruises charting well. It doesn’t seem like there is any consistent buzz about it, it’s just “there.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.